Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I substituted the Swiss for English sharp Cheddar. It was excellent. I would serve this one to company for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great base to this soup! I did use sharp cheddar as some recommended, but may give it a try with the swiss next time. I doubled the recipe and also chopped up 12 pieces of precooked bacon and added at the end. Was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommajackson308

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Prairie City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Yum! I left the skin on the potatoes and ended up needing a lot more broth, but it was still very good! I used cheddar cheese and left out the flour all together since it was already so thick. I'll probably use only half a teaspoon of pepper next time, too. Bacon and green onions on top added a nice touch! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great soup! I added some smoked polish sausage and used chicken broth instead of vegetable. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very tasty! I used colby-jack cheese in it and had to omit the celery because I didn't have any. Easy and yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I just finished making this (and tasting it) for dinner! Yum yum. Like several people I swapped out the cheese - not because I don't like Swiss, but because I didn't have it on hand. I used a Mexican cheese blend. I doubled the recipe and it came out delicious. My only complaint is the potatoes. I used 8 potatoes and it isn't quite enough. I wish that instead of a # of potatoes it had a # of cups of potatoes. I am about to cut up some more potatoes, soften them up and throw them in the soup. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINESAVILLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great first time try at Potato cheese soup, didn't have the celery but still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This recipe got big raves at my dinner party tonight! I used the recipe adjuster to work to serve 10 people. It called for a little over 1/4 of a cup butter. I added 1/2 cup butter. Instead of adding 4 cups of milk, I added 3 cups of milk and 1 cup half and half cream. I skipped adding pepper. Substituted celery for green bell pepper. I was amazing! I wish I had done a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This soup was SOOOO good! But I made changes cuz' I forgot to buy some stuff.. I used 3 cups whole milk instead I used Velveeta and Sharp Cheddar cheeses I didn't have celery seed so I added some garlic and a cajun seasoning I didn't have flour so I used biscuit mix that was an All-Purpose Mix I used maybe 8-10 potatoes, 2 carrots chopped, and 2 stalks of celery chopped. I used 1.5 cup of vegetable broth and 1.5 cups of chicken broth. Because of adding more of things, I also had to add more parsley, salt and pepper as it went along. it made about 6 bowls worth but I was really hoping I'd have leftovers. Next time i will add more of everything so I have some left over. It was SOOO good! I "garnish" it with smoked sausage because the men need their beef; so we put sausage on top of the soup and serve with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Delicious! My son, who doesn't usually like potato soup, loved it too. He said if I make it like this everytime, he'll always eat it. The only thing I did differently was I used colby jack cheese because that is what I had on hand. Would like to try it with the swiss next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moberly, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States