Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I LOVE this soup! Though, it's so rich an creamy it's more of a chowder. Still, I've made it about 4 times and just gorge myself. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and melted the butter in a large saucepan, then added the flour. I added the milk, parsley (no pepper) and stirred until heated, then added it to the potato pot. I've nearly tripled this recipe when making it, but I need to remind myself the next time not to triple the amount of flour. This soup gets nice and thick with no difficulty. It truly is a forgiving recipe. Oh and the cheese. The cheese with this soup is divine. I use cheddar everytime, as I love the taste of cheddar. I suppose sometime I should try Swiss and see if it tastes any different. Overall this is one of my favorite recipes to have ever come across on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My family absolutely loved this dish! I substituted cheddar cheese instead and it was an instant hit. Will be definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Soup was a hit! I doubled the cheese and used sharp cheddar instead of swiss. Also added more salt, pepper and cayenne. I ended up putting more vegetable broth into it since I had extra - 2 1/2 cups total. Easy enough - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Very versatile, forgiving, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This recipe did not work so well for me. Too peppery. Not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I too, substituted cheddar for swiss because I can't stand swiss and already had cheddar in the fridge, along with everything else in house to make this simple recipe. Was delicious. My (chef) husband came home from work and was skeptical that I actually made it and didn't buy it from somewhere! He already requested I make it again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
It was soooo divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fluffenutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Yum! A lot healthier too than most potato cheese soups that call for processed cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by simplya
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Perfect and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I substituted the Swiss for English sharp Cheddar. It was excellent. I would serve this one to company for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States