Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe is a real winner, you can't get it wrong. It's nice you can add a touch of diversity by adding or omitting different vegetables. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
We really liked this. Potato soup is not my choice of a soup and this is the first potato soup I've ever "liked". The light amount of cheesiness is just right. I had 5 medium potatoes (I would recommend using 6 large as we had quite a bit of juice left with no potatoes in it) I didn't have chicken soup base, so I mashed 3 chicken boullion cubes up in the sauteed veggies. I used 6 T. of margarine instead of 1/2 c. and added a few fresh sliced baby portabella mushrooms the last couple minutes to the veggies as they were sauteeing. I loved the mushroom addition and will add a lot more the next time. I'm looking forward to sharing this recipe with friends soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Super Yummy-I used 16 oz. of colby jack cheese and 2 tablespoons of flour for thickener as I did not have corn starch and sauteed a few cloves of garlic with the celery as did not have any onions in the house-We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was a really nice Cheesey potato soup recipe! Easy to make and loved that you can also add to the recipe. Well I added onion powder and whole garlic cloves to the soup (just added the garlic cloves to the potatoes while boiling) and omitted the cornstarch and milk step as other people have suggested since the soup already becomes think due to all the starch in the potatoes. Also this makes great mashed potatoes the next day if you don't want to thin it out as soup. Also to make this more of a meal, I added some chunks of cooked turkey. I also ended up using shredded cheese because I did not have any blocked cheese. The cheese I used wasn't very salty tasting so I did end up adding a little bit of salt to the recipe, but only after I tasted it when everything was put together. This was gone in 2 days, thanks for sharing a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowmix318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is great. I had to make some adjustments based on the ingredients I had on hand. I shredded the few carrots I had on hand, to make them go farther, and added them with the cheese, and I used 8 oz of mild cheddar instead of Velveeta. I am glad to know of a cheese soup recipe that can work with real cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was very good but I had to add more cheese no doubt about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Thomas
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This soup is SOOOOO good. We are from Wisconsin, so of course we added A LOT more cheese. We probably used 3/4 of the valveeta brick. SO DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe was awesome!! I followed the recipe as given, except I added more cheese including about 1-2 oz. of pepperjack which gave it a wee bit of a bite. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this soup yesterday and after tweeking it, it came out great. I ended up adding a whole block of Velvetta and 3/4 of a block of Kraft Medium Cheddar Cheese. I also only used 1/2 stick of butter instead of a whole and did not add the salt. I think next time I will add another potato and another carrot. I also ended up putting in some half and half at the end to thin it out a little. Definitely didn't need the cornstarch and milk mixture for thickening. The one thing I would like to mention is when making this soup, you must make sure to turn the heat off when adding the cheese cause if you don't you run the risk of it turning out with a curdled consistency. I took some of it to my daughters today and she thought it was better than Big Boys Canadian Cheddar Cheese Soup which has always been her favorite, so boy was I happy! This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauri Monteyne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This soup is delicious. I did add some extra cheese and some crumbled bacon to it. My children, who are picky at times, always love eating this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Box Elder, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States