Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was a fabulous soup with such a creamy texture. I added evaporated milk instead of regular milk. Did not add cornstarch. I doubled the amount of carrots and celery called for because I love soups loaded with veggies. Do not add salt unless you don't truly care about heart health. I will keep this recipe as a "most loved" soup! The kids gobbled it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was fantastic. I used cabbage and carraway seeds instead of celery. I doubled the cheese. Added the cornflour and cream at the end. It was delicious and filling. Easy to make with nothing much in the cupboard. This was even better the next day. Utterly delicious and very hearty. We enjoyed it enormously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Tasted great. Had to doctor it quite a bit. I probably used the wrong type of potatoes. Definitely use more potatoes and cheese than recipe calls for here. I didn't need the cornstarch and cut down on the margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Wow! So good! I didnt make it exactly the way the recipe says because I didnt have everything. No celery, and I didnt have chicken soup base so used a little chicken boullian in some hot water. It turned out excellent! My husband told me that I have to make it again! Thanks for the great recipe! Update: made this again and its just as great as the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Wonderful soup, not too thick. Very good served with toasted rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was VERY good. I'd been looking for a potato soup recipe that would be worth making again - this is it - delicious! Like others, I didn't wind up needing to use the cornstarch to thicken it. HOWEVER, that may be because I used a couple extra potatoes & mashed some as I stirred before serving. Also, like others, I put crumbled bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe is a real winner, you can't get it wrong. It's nice you can add a touch of diversity by adding or omitting different vegetables. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
We really liked this. Potato soup is not my choice of a soup and this is the first potato soup I've ever "liked". The light amount of cheesiness is just right. I had 5 medium potatoes (I would recommend using 6 large as we had quite a bit of juice left with no potatoes in it) I didn't have chicken soup base, so I mashed 3 chicken boullion cubes up in the sauteed veggies. I used 6 T. of margarine instead of 1/2 c. and added a few fresh sliced baby portabella mushrooms the last couple minutes to the veggies as they were sauteeing. I loved the mushroom addition and will add a lot more the next time. I'm looking forward to sharing this recipe with friends soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Super Yummy-I used 16 oz. of colby jack cheese and 2 tablespoons of flour for thickener as I did not have corn starch and sauteed a few cloves of garlic with the celery as did not have any onions in the house-We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was a really nice Cheesey potato soup recipe! Easy to make and loved that you can also add to the recipe. Well I added onion powder and whole garlic cloves to the soup (just added the garlic cloves to the potatoes while boiling) and omitted the cornstarch and milk step as other people have suggested since the soup already becomes think due to all the starch in the potatoes. Also this makes great mashed potatoes the next day if you don't want to thin it out as soup. Also to make this more of a meal, I added some chunks of cooked turkey. I also ended up using shredded cheese because I did not have any blocked cheese. The cheese I used wasn't very salty tasting so I did end up adding a little bit of salt to the recipe, but only after I tasted it when everything was put together. This was gone in 2 days, thanks for sharing a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowmix318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States