Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is great. I had to make some adjustments based on the ingredients I had on hand. I shredded the few carrots I had on hand, to make them go farther, and added them with the cheese, and I used 8 oz of mild cheddar instead of Velveeta. I am glad to know of a cheese soup recipe that can work with real cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was very good but I had to add more cheese no doubt about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Thomas
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This soup is SOOOOO good. We are from Wisconsin, so of course we added A LOT more cheese. We probably used 3/4 of the valveeta brick. SO DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe was awesome!! I followed the recipe as given, except I added more cheese including about 1-2 oz. of pepperjack which gave it a wee bit of a bite. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this soup yesterday and after tweeking it, it came out great. I ended up adding a whole block of Velvetta and 3/4 of a block of Kraft Medium Cheddar Cheese. I also only used 1/2 stick of butter instead of a whole and did not add the salt. I think next time I will add another potato and another carrot. I also ended up putting in some half and half at the end to thin it out a little. Definitely didn't need the cornstarch and milk mixture for thickening. The one thing I would like to mention is when making this soup, you must make sure to turn the heat off when adding the cheese cause if you don't you run the risk of it turning out with a curdled consistency. I took some of it to my daughters today and she thought it was better than Big Boys Canadian Cheddar Cheese Soup which has always been her favorite, so boy was I happy! This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This soup is delicious. I did add some extra cheese and some crumbled bacon to it. My children, who are picky at times, always love eating this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Box Elder, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I hate to admit how much I like Velveeta!! I'm sure this would be great with regular cheddar but the Velveeta made this soup so creamy! I used a 16 oz box of Velveeta. Other than that, the only change I made was to puree some of the soup before adding the cheese to thicken it up and I didn't need to add any cornstarch or anything. It made a lot-was great to dip french bread in and I had leftovers for lunch for two days! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great tasting! Okay texture, a little bit too mushy. Next time I would hold off on mashing the potatoes and keep them whole. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Needham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
We just had 16 inches of snow today and we thought this soup would be perfect for this cold winter day. It is a great soup, make sure you salt it though. I agree the 1/2 cup of butter was too much. I used 2 Tbsp and 2 tsp of olive oil. I did use a little more cheese than the recipe stated though. Top with poped popcorn for a wonderful winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weldon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
The only changes I made were to use WAY less margarine, and also French onion soup mix plus a couple of chicken bouillon cubes. It turned out pretty thick by itself, so I didn't need to add much cornstarch/milk either. Good stuff. Thanks, Shauna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States