Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I've been looking for a good potato soup recipe that I could make gluten free without changing anything and found it! I did tweek a little, but not much. I mashed the potatoes after there were cooked for a more creamy soup. Took out the 2 cups water and added 2 cups chicken broth instead. Added Knorr soup base for a little bit of flavor. And rather than Velvetta, I used shredded sharp cheddar. We're a cheese lover (but HATE processed cheese food) so it was about 3 cups of cheese. And we added bacon because bacon is a staple in our house, haha. After that, the cornstarch wasn't needed to thicken it up. My boyfriend LOVED it. He can't wait until I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Just what we were hoping for. We added 12oz cheese instead of 8, as the first time we made it we felt it could have been a bit cheesier for our taste. Very tasteful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
When I make this I add bacon and smoked sausage. I also replace the"processed cheese food" with mild cheddar. Delicious and hearty on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
i might have overcooked this cause it kind of separated. flavor was ok. needed something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I doubled this recipe. Instead of cooking this on the stove, I threw the potatoes, carrots, celery and onion into the crockpot and covered them with organic chicken broth (instead of cooking them in plain water and in place of the chicken soup base) and cooked them all day. After they'd cooked, I quickly ran a potato masher through them for a quick coarse texture, then added the milk (condensed milk, it's easier to cook with) and the Velveeta. I did not need the cornstarch as the potato soup was thick enough on it's own thanks to the Velveeta. I did add a couple personal touches (a few spices, little Frank's Hot Sauce, sauteed green onion and fresh minced garlic, real bacon bits). I think had I not added the extras, it would have turned out quite bland. The end result was a decent soup and the boys seemed to enjoy it, especially my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is a good soup with a little tweaking. I agree with other reviewers; will only use 1/4 cup butter/margarine next time. Will also make sure to cook the celery/onion mix thoroughly as it was a little crunchy for my taste. I did use mostly red potatoes and they hold up better. The one very large russet gave it that nice creamy potato consistency. Added crumbled bacon and green onion to the top. Will make this again. My grandson gave it two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERDANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicous! I made a couple changes based solely on preference. I added 16 oz of Velveeta as opposed to the 8 recommended, and I also added a jar of bacon bits. Also, I wanted the soup to be creamy rather than chunky, so I put my soup in the blender on puree for a few seconds just to get it really creamy. It was absolutely WONDERFUL and my whole family enjoyed it... including my 2 small children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was a great soup! The only thing I did differently was I added mushrooms to the onion and celery mixture. I will make this again. My whole family loved it and it was super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Lawrence, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I just made a Vegan version of this soup and it is fantastic! Substituted vetgan cheese (Daiya), EarthBalance for butter, almond milk, and veggie boullion. Also, before adding the "cheese", I ran a couple cups of the cooked veggies thru the food processor to thicken the soup instead of corn starch. I will definitely make this soup again. It is awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I loved this recipe. Simple, easy, and oh so yummy. I didn't add the cornstarch and extra milk (as I've seen many others say). But I also added a cup of frozen broccoli (my husband and I will add broccoli to anything) and it added a nice color. After cooking this, I added it to our crock pot (set on warm) because we were having company- worked out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States