Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Everyone loved it! I added 1 cup of shredded cheese, because we love cheese and I recommend not adding any salt because Velveeta and the cheese are both salty. But this is a hit. Easy and reheats well, even in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Fabulous! We didn't even need to add the cornstarch, as the starch from the potatoes we used thickened it up nicely. I ended up putting in about 12 oz. of cheese instead of 8. We topped it with crispy crumbled bacon and chopped chives. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I loved this recipe. I added shrimp, corn, and broccoli to the soup along with bacon and half a can of rotel. Be sure to process the rotel with the broccoli. Great with friends on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made this tonight. It was awesome. I will for sure make it again. It's a keeper. I put a little more cheese in cause I like cheese.But I didn't change nothing else in it. It was sssooooo gooood. Everybody you have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eldridge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
very good. I did did not add carrots, added much more cheese and only used about 3 tbls of butter. The only chicken base I had was a southwestern Chicken base so I added a little jalepeno and monterey jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This soup is delicious. I did add some extra cheese and some crumbled bacon to it. My children, who are picky at times, always love eating this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Box Elder, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I hate to admit how much I like Velveeta!! I'm sure this would be great with regular cheddar but the Velveeta made this soup so creamy! I used a 16 oz box of Velveeta. Other than that, the only change I made was to puree some of the soup before adding the cheese to thicken it up and I didn't need to add any cornstarch or anything. It made a lot-was great to dip french bread in and I had leftovers for lunch for two days! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
We just had 16 inches of snow today and we thought this soup would be perfect for this cold winter day. It is a great soup, make sure you salt it though. I agree the 1/2 cup of butter was too much. I used 2 Tbsp and 2 tsp of olive oil. I did use a little more cheese than the recipe stated though. Top with poped popcorn for a wonderful winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weldon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was a really nice Cheesey potato soup recipe! Easy to make and loved that you can also add to the recipe. Well I added onion powder and whole garlic cloves to the soup (just added the garlic cloves to the potatoes while boiling) and omitted the cornstarch and milk step as other people have suggested since the soup already becomes think due to all the starch in the potatoes. Also this makes great mashed potatoes the next day if you don't want to thin it out as soup. Also to make this more of a meal, I added some chunks of cooked turkey. I also ended up using shredded cheese because I did not have any blocked cheese. The cheese I used wasn't very salty tasting so I did end up adding a little bit of salt to the recipe, but only after I tasted it when everything was put together. This was gone in 2 days, thanks for sharing a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowmix318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Super Yummy-I used 16 oz. of colby jack cheese and 2 tablespoons of flour for thickener as I did not have corn starch and sauteed a few cloves of garlic with the celery as did not have any onions in the house-We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States