Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was wonderful. I've made it twice now, the first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I didn't top the casserole with corn flakes or butter. Instead, I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese and baked it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acl1209

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I loved this casserole. I combined the hash browns with the cheese/sour cream/soup and only used a pat of butter to saute the onions. A stick is way too much. Same for the corn flakes, just enough butter to coat the corn flakes before putting them on. I also had to cook at a lower temp to accommodate other items in the oven, but it wasn't even an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was my first time making a potato casserole. It was easy and turned out quite tasty. I think it would have been better if the soup mixture was mixed iwth the potatoes. I fried my onions in a TB of light olive oil and warmed my corn flakes in a skillet with only 1/4 cup butter and it was plenty. As suggested below I added the corn flakes on for the last 10 minutes of cooking. Yum Yum...will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I love this recipe! I make it on all the holidays and take it to all the families. I use cream of chicken, and instead of shredded hash browns I use the hashbrown patties (McDonalds Stle) you can get from the store and crumble them into the bowl for mixing w/ the other ingredients. I also use potato chips crushed on top instead of cornflakes...and no extra butter on top. Some revisions to the recipe but it's essentially the same. :) & sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I started making this a couple of years ago and it is now a family staple and requested at all get togethers. Very easy and delicious...thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this for a family brunch. Everyone loved it. It is so creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Good flavor for this casserole. I used low fat ingredients and everything still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My mother in law loved it, but I didn't like it as much. Pouring the butter directly onto the corn flakes made it a little tough, and I didn't really care for that. I also used a bag of little square cubed potatoes instead of the shredded ones. It turned out, and I will try again. Except maybe I'll mix the butter in with the corn flakes instead of just pouring it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
my husband loved this! his new favorite potato dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Took this camping and it was a hit. Used 2 packages of potatoes, a can of cream of potato soup, and 6 eggs with about 4 table spoons milk scrambled and mixed in. I found it easiest to bake this with foil cover so the corn flakes would not burn and only at 375. For this big of a batch, I had to separate it and bake them at different times to heat throughout. Also added more cheese before putting the corn flakes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniele & Danny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States