Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I loved this casserole. I combined the hash browns with the cheese/sour cream/soup and only used a pat of butter to saute the onions. A stick is way too much. Same for the corn flakes, just enough butter to coat the corn flakes before putting them on. I also had to cook at a lower temp to accommodate other items in the oven, but it wasn't even an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was my first time making a potato casserole. It was easy and turned out quite tasty. I think it would have been better if the soup mixture was mixed iwth the potatoes. I fried my onions in a TB of light olive oil and warmed my corn flakes in a skillet with only 1/4 cup butter and it was plenty. As suggested below I added the corn flakes on for the last 10 minutes of cooking. Yum Yum...will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I love this recipe! I make it on all the holidays and take it to all the families. I use cream of chicken, and instead of shredded hash browns I use the hashbrown patties (McDonalds Stle) you can get from the store and crumble them into the bowl for mixing w/ the other ingredients. I also use potato chips crushed on top instead of cornflakes...and no extra butter on top. Some revisions to the recipe but it's essentially the same. :) & sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I started making this a couple of years ago and it is now a family staple and requested at all get togethers. Very easy and delicious...thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this for a family brunch. Everyone loved it. It is so creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Good flavor for this casserole. I used low fat ingredients and everything still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My mother in law loved it, but I didn't like it as much. Pouring the butter directly onto the corn flakes made it a little tough, and I didn't really care for that. I also used a bag of little square cubed potatoes instead of the shredded ones. It turned out, and I will try again. Except maybe I'll mix the butter in with the corn flakes instead of just pouring it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
my husband loved this! his new favorite potato dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Took this camping and it was a hit. Used 2 packages of potatoes, a can of cream of potato soup, and 6 eggs with about 4 table spoons milk scrambled and mixed in. I found it easiest to bake this with foil cover so the corn flakes would not burn and only at 375. For this big of a batch, I had to separate it and bake them at different times to heat throughout. Also added more cheese before putting the corn flakes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniele & Danny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is yummy and I would make it again but as a breakfast/brunch dish. I would not serve this again with dinner. It makes a ton and was also good left over the next day (with eggs for breakfast).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States