Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I made it exactly as it was written and served it for company last night. It was a big hit! I'd like to try it again with diced green and red peppers in it just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner. I used sharp cheddar and half the butter recommended. Assembled it two days before, cooked it one day before (without corn flakes) and brought it up to temperature on Thanksgiving Day with corn flakes (350 degrees for 30 min or so). There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I have made other potato casseroles that were far superior to this one. I may make this again due to how easy it was but it is definitely not a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I've been making this recipie for years, and you just can't beat it! Try cream of celery soup instead of the chicken.... I always mix everything except the butter and cereal in a big bowl, then dump into the casserole. Then I melt the butter and mix with the cereal and then dump all that on top and spread around... don't forget that Kosher Salt! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Great recipe. I substituted the sour cream and onion with french onion dip to save time and gives a little extra flavor. Used cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom, and used fresh cubed potatoes, with a little extra cheese. Also I added corn flakes latter and used spray butter to cut back on butter and saves a little time...but always good which ever way you make very forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Big hit! Took this to a Thanksgiving dinner with friends and they said it was the highlight of the meal. Many people went back for seconds. I used Potatoes O'Brien instead of hashbrowns and mixed all of the ingredients together as another user recommended. I still did the Corn Flakes and butter on top but mixed in a little cheddar cheese on the topping as well. Still very rich with half the amount of butter. Definitely making this again. Super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I followed the cues from other reviews and substituted the potatoes and onions for Ore Ida Potatos Obrien. It's so easy to make and really delicious comfort food. My fiance went back for seconds (and thirds)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
My family and I love this recipe! I made a few changes to add color and extra flavor based on previous reviews. I used Potatoes O'Brien instead of hash browns, as the package includes red and green pepper and onions. I also used only one stick of butter, which seemed to be enough. And the only other change I made was, I added the cornflakes and the rest (1/2 stick) of the melted butter during the last 30 minutes of cooking, the crust turned out crispy and perfectly browned. I will definitely continue to make these potatoes as a side-dish for my family and friends! This casserole has such a strong, rich flavor; it's also very filling and belly-warming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I liked it very easy and simple. I added real mushrooms and cubed/dice ham to have more protein to the dish. instead of heating the onion i place in the bowl to mix up the ingredients. It was very good. My daughter had three helpings and always asks for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Love this recipe! I know...it's bad for you...but it's oh so delicious. I do cut back the calories by using non fat cream of mushroom soup, low fat cheese, low fat sour cream, and light butter. It still tastes fantastic. This is a great side dish for a family meal or a great dish to take to a pot luck. It always goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States