Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
To save time, steps, and cleanup, while enhancing the flavor, I've always substituted the potatoes and onion with frozen Ore-Ida brand Potatoes O'Brien, which are the tiny cubed potatoes already mixed with onions as well as peppers. This way, you can eliminate the onion as well as the saute pan. The green and red bell peppers give it a little extra punch -- you can even eliminate the soup entirely. I also like using sharp cheddar instead of the mild and, in addition, mix about 1/4 c. shredded sharp cheddar with the corn flakes; crushing together in a ziploc. I use only one dish to mix and bake, and grease it with margarine or butter. Also, I've always baked it at 375 degrees to ensure there are no "cold spots". No one ever tires of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
432 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
My mom makes a similar dish without a recipe, and I was trying to find some formula to guide me. This helped. I recommend: boosting the cheese to 3 or 4 cups; replacing the first stick of butter with just enough olive oil to saute the onions; using only a half-stick for the corn flakes (moisten the flakes in skillet with the melted butter); and mixing all the contents together rather than layering them. Depending on your oven, you also can reduce the temp to 400, I'd say. I'd bake it 50 minutes before adding the butter-moistened corn flakes, and then bake for another 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I just about had my own heart attack when I saw much butter was in this. So, I decided to experiment. I sauteed the onions in a bit of olive oil. I used full fat sour cream because sometimes the low fat stuff curdles when cooked. I used fat free mushroom soup and only used 1/2 stick butter on the corn flakes. I also added some turkey ham to make it a main dish. This was really good and everything I was expecting. Thanks for the basis to a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This is an excellent recipe for a family dinner, and the top is cripy. I waited a half hour to put the corn flakes on top and it made them golden brown instead of dark brown. Yum Yum Yum! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
A friend from Louisiana gave us this recipe years ago. It's one of those dishes that you can't stop eating! I've made it lower fat by using Smart Balance instead of butter, lowfat sour cream, and less cheese, and although it doesn't hold a candle to the 'drenched in real butter' original, it's still good. I bake it without the corn flakes for 40-45 minutes, then add them during the last 15. They end up nice and crispy, but not burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
I substituted cream of chicken soup for the cream of mushroom. I was low on sour cream so I added milk. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
The proportions are really off in this recipe. I had to make adjustments soon after I put mine in the oven because it became apparent that this was going to turn out more like potato soup than a casserole. If you double the potatoes, omit or reduce the butter, and half the cheese then this will turn out great. As written, this recipe doesn't work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This goes so well with baked ham, and other assorted side dishes for an easy buffet dinner. I serve it on Easter Sunday because it can be made up ahead of time then simply baked the day of the meal. I like to use Cream of Chicken soup instead of Cream of Mushroom however. I never use a whole onion in anything because I think it overpowers the flavor of the dish...half or less is enough. You can leave the cornflakes off too or use crushed Ritz crackers if you like. Adjust the temperature to your oven and watch so it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Feel free to try these variations: Use whatever "cream of" soup you like best. They all work. Instead of sauteed onions, use French's Onions. One cup, more or less to taste. Substitute chive flavored Top the Tater for plain sour cream. Add cubed ham or sliced sausage (polish, keilbasa, etc.) to the recipe. I used a 1 lb. keilbasa, cut into 3/4 inch slices. This recipe is a good base and takes very well to variations. It's also very quick and easy to prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great side dish for any dinner with chicken, cubed steak etc. A good alternative to mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States