Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is a good, quick, easy dish for a crowd (I was cooking for 40). I made some adjustments to add additional flavor and nutrition, which I think was definitely needed. It would have been too bland w/o it. With the onions I sauteed finely chopped broccoli, diced bell pepper, and chunks of ham. I also stirred the hash browns into the mixture, instead of just laying mixture on top, and used fried onions as topping. I think corn flakes, bread crumbs, fried onions or additional cheese would all work nicely as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great side dish for any dinner with chicken, cubed steak etc. A good alternative to mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Too sour and didn't like the texture. If I ever make this again I would use a lot less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made for Christmas Eve family dinner. Went very well with our baked ham. Great go-to side dish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I've made this with French's fried onions as alt topping with Ham.peas, & mushrooms added in to turn it into a main dish Have used both the cubed style HB or the Shred HB both good. Surplus of potatoes on hand, make it with fresh cubed also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edenton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
AWESOME!!!!! I added fresh minced garlic to the onions and it was a hit. My family loves garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
My family loves this and I now make this with Durkee french fried onions instead of the corn flakes I stir some inside and sprinkle them over the top its not low fat but its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was wonderful. I've made it twice now, the first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I didn't top the casserole with corn flakes or butter. Instead, I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese and baked it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acl1209

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I loved this casserole. I combined the hash browns with the cheese/sour cream/soup and only used a pat of butter to saute the onions. A stick is way too much. Same for the corn flakes, just enough butter to coat the corn flakes before putting them on. I also had to cook at a lower temp to accommodate other items in the oven, but it wasn't even an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was my first time making a potato casserole. It was easy and turned out quite tasty. I think it would have been better if the soup mixture was mixed iwth the potatoes. I fried my onions in a TB of light olive oil and warmed my corn flakes in a skillet with only 1/4 cup butter and it was plenty. As suggested below I added the corn flakes on for the last 10 minutes of cooking. Yum Yum...will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States