Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I used 98% fat free soup, low fat sour cream, and 2% cheese. I also sauteed the onions in a tablespoon of butter, and then used only 1/3 cup melted over the topping. It was still gone faster than lightening and wasn't nearly as guilty of a pleasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Only complaint is the cooking time! It was charcoaled at 425. I would start checking at 45 mins. It really doesn't need more than 50 mins. I substituted the potato chips for corn flakes, and cream of chicken. Tossed in a bit of salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste. GREAT recipe-just watch the cook time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I made this for a Mother's Day brunch...very creamy and tasty! But this MUST be covered while baked, otherwise the cornflakes will burn, I also reduced the temp. to 400!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Delicious! Made this for Easter Sunday and it went very quick! The only thing I may change is to use low sodium soup. It was just a tad salty for my taste. But otherwise was yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I did not have time to review the comments - which I wish I had done before making this recipe! 1st: way too much butter. I followed recipe & sauted onion in the stick of butter and added to soup/sr cream mixture. Then continued directions and it said to add remaining stick of butter (where is THAT on extra stick on the ingredient list???). It seemed too much so I only drisled a couple tablespoons. I would recommend only using a tablespoon or two to saute onion and then use only a few tablespoons over the corn flakes. I would also reduce sour cream to about 1/2 container and add a bit of milk. It was tasty but the potato to cream mixture proportion was off. A bit too goopy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sockmonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Great recipe to take to a potluck or family dinner. Everyone will love it! I know there's a lot of butter, but don't skimp - it's so delicious as is! I do suggest covering it with foil for the first 20-30 minutes, then uncovering it for the remainder - otherwise, the cornflakes may burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I used half the butter and omitted the soup and used green onions. Should have added some milk to make consistency more like a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GwynR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Excellent! I halved the recipe for my family of 4 and it made just the right amount with no leftovers. I gave the recipe 5 stars based on flavor and ease of preparation but, I did make a few alterations. The recipe calls for way too much butter. You only need a few tablespoons of butter to saute the onion - not a whole stick. Even though I halved the recipe, I still used the entire can of soup(didn't want it to go to waste). The sauce seemed a little too thick so I added about 1/4 -1/3 cup (skim) milk. After pouring the sauce over the potatos, I dotted the top with a few pats of butter (approxe 3 TBSP)instead of using the remaining stick that the recipe called for. I also substituted durkee french fried onions for the cornflakes which I added during the final 5 - 10 minutes of baking. The whole casserole only took about 1/2 hr to cook. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
my aunt makes something like this...I call them cheesy tatoes :) I really only use this recipe for measurement purposes...b/c instead of cream of mushroom I use cream of chicken, and I leave out the corn flakes and onion completely...PERFECT comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States