Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very good. I used two cans of the cream of chicken soup and left out the onions and butter and cornflakes. I can see how two cans of cream of cheddar soup would be great as well. I made a note on my recipe to add a splash of milk next time as well, because they were a tad too thick this time; I think a little more creaminess would be nice. I used shredded hash browns, so I think shredded rather than cubed cheese works better in that case. I wish the original recipe had specified whether to use the suqare or shredded potatoes, because I wasn't sure which. A nice way to make a big pan of potatoes without too much hassle. Easy to customize to your own personal taste: I could see throwing in some ham, etc. OH and you DO need BOTH the cans of the soup unless you want to add more sour cream. There are variations of this recipe that call for ONE can, but note the additional sour cream. PS Allow plenty of time to thaw those potatoes; it took much longer than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I've been making this for two years so far and it's pleased everyone who's tried it! My family specially asks for this at almost every holiday. I make it AS IS, aside from using real butter in the corn flakes instead of margarine. The best cheese to use is Sargento. YUM!! This one won't let you down! And it's almost too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Yummy! I will make this alot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
ALl you could taste was the soup and it was just too overpowering. I whipped up some loaded mashed potatoes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Very good - I've made this a few times. I use real butter and don't add cornflakes. I also microwave the potatoes prior to baking so that they are done in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steger, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Great Recipe! I have been making this for years, in place of the sour cream I use Lay's french onion dip, and because there are non-meat eaters in my family, I stick to either 2 cans of mushroom soup, or 2 cans of cheese soup if the non-mushroom eaters come. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyLisa
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
when making this, I heat up all the ingredients exept the potatoes until bubbling, than add the potatoes. For those of you that couldn't get your hashbrowns to cook this might help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I needed potatoes for 50 and Not wanting to peel that many potatoes I opted for hash browns. Over twenty people came up and complimented the potatoes. They were great. I realized in the conversion I didn't buy enough soup so I used a can of cream of celery and brocoli cheese I already had along with mostly cream of chicken and only one cream of mushroom. The conversion for 50 was actually enough for 100. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Usually, I use mushroom soup only for this recipe. Today, as one user suggested I used Cheddar cheese soup, omiting the regular cheddar. I also used cornflakes for the first time. I thought it came out terrific. However, I will make a couple of suggestion for folks who may have never made this before. First, let the potatos thaw...don't put in the oven frozen. Second, for my own personal tastes, I will use 1/4-1/2 cup more corn flakes. The two cups didn't seem sufficent. Second, I think 1/2 cup margarine is too much. I though the corn flakes were a little soggy even after being in the oven. I would also suggest seasoning with a little garlic or paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smt10131969

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Must defrost the hashbrowns before mixing. I've made this for years, and only use one can of cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States