Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We love this casserole. I use shredded cheddar cheese instead of cubed. It mixes better plus every bite of casserole has cheese in it! I also use the southern style potatoes instead of the hashbrowns and love the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I like to use grated cheddar, but this is addictive & awesome. This is the best version I've tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This casserole was good....have made before but this was the first time using this recipe. Could have used a bit more flavor. Found the potatoes to be a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Somers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Wasn't a fan of this...the cream of chicken soup didn't mesh well with the potatos and the butter made the cornflakes taste funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Careful on the onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I always use cream of celery soup, green onions, southern hash browns, which are cubed. My family call this dish "Party Potatoes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
We really liked this recipe. I might have to try the paprika idea, but it was easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I have eaten many cheesy potato casserole variations. This is the one I like the best! The rich flavor and creamy/cheesy sauce is just wonderful! Now for my variations: * I don't use corn flake topping * I still DO use the margarine Here's what I do: * Pour the potatoes in a large bowl and put the chopped onion on top. * In a saucepan, I mix the sour cream, butter, and soups together and heat them VERY hot. Then I stir in the cheese to melt and blend. * Pour the hot mixture over the frozen potatoes. (Helps them thaw) Stir. * Bake in 9x13 baking dish (COVERED with foil sprayed w/cooking spray) at 350° for 45 minutes...turn off the heat and leave in the oven for about 15 more minutes. There are never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Tried this recipe the first time for company and it received rave reviews. It's fantastic! Some points: -I live in Canada, and our hashbrown bags come in 1 kg. size. That's 2.2 pounds. And sure enough, while mixing it up, it seemed like the casserole would be dry if I added the whole bag, so I saved back about 1 c. -shredded extra old cheddar for superb cheesy flavour -6 green onions chopped (1 bunch) in addition to the one onion. And I sauteed the onion in butter to soften it first. -I probably used 1 1/2 cups sour cream. Didn't measure. Again, I didn't want the casserole to be dry. -half hour covered then half hour uncovered. I think it could use more time covered. The potatoes were ever-so-slightly too firm, though no one complained as they tasted sooooo good! And yes, defrostint them first is necessary. -butter instead of margarine with the cornflakes. If you're making this, you're not dairy- or fat-averse, so why not go all the way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States