Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
The receipe calls for frozen potatoes but you have to defrost them. I've made this for years and that's what I've always done and never had any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I get compliments on this every time. I use cream of onion in place of the cream of chicken and top with fried onions. You can add some lightly sauteed diced green peppers and cooked ground beef to this for a casserole dinner. I agree with preparing it ahead of time and letting it thaw in the refrigerator--that's the only way I do it. This also freezes well so you can double the recipe. I think this is a bit salty, so I am going to omit the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
We make this every Christmas and Easter with our honey baked ham. I also substitute another cream of chicken soup in place of the cream of mushroom. A tip: mix up a day early and keep in fridge, that way potatoes are thawed and no mess mixing up at last minute. You do have to thaw the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I have tried similar recipes but this one is the best. The only thing I do different is 1/2 cup of butter. I tried a full cup of butter and it was just to grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
fast and easy great with ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
easies and best ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinsley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Delicious! I made these for Christmas dinner, served with ham, glazed carrots and crescent rolls. These were a fantastic accompaniment and everyone loved them, even my 5-year-old very picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This turned out really good. I thawed the hashbrowns in the microwave and only used cream of chicken (2 cans) because I don't like mushroom soup. I baked it at 325 for an hour because I was cooking a ham and it turned out perfect. I did have one request (out of 8 people eating it) to cut the onions in smaller peices, but everyone else said they were fine. I added a couple dashes of pepper and used a couple dashes of sea salt instead of the regular amount of salt it called for. I'm making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
My mother and I have been making this casserole for potlucks and for home for ages! It's good the way that it's written, but we like to tweak the ingredients just a little bit to make it suit our family's taste. I use a can of Campbells Fiesta Cheese soup instead of the shredded cheddar. It gives the casserole an even creamier texture and I like the kick that the peppers in the soup offer. Also, you can really use any 2 "cream of" soups that you have on hand. I have used cream of celery, cream of chicken, cream of mushroom...the possibilities are endless. Make this your own and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is my favorite cheese potato casserole, it's been served by my family for as long as I can remember. Can't bake a ham without it! I don't use the cornflakes and I bake it covered in foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States