Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I have been making this potato casserole for a few years now. I omitted the butter and chips. I sometimes add small cubes of ham. Delicious. Family loves them. I will be making it with the potato chips for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
alwalys a pleaser especially if served at a brunch or with baked ham. easy to put together and you can do it the night before and bake it the next day. also good with green or red peppers mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is pretty much the recipe I use but with a few changes. First, I don't ever thaw out the hash browns (though it would probably be much easier to mix up if i did), I don't add onion, I add 1 stick of butter, softened and then i use 8 ounces of sour cream AND 8 ounces of french onion dip (which adds a nice little something extra). With the topping I usually crush enough chips into the melted butted to cover the entire dish (a bit more messy this way but all the chips get coated with butter and I like it that way). I also a few times have used sour cream & onion chips just for a little more flavor. Oh yeah, I almost forgot, I bake at 350 for 1 hour exactly and it comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I used cream of mushroom instead of chicken and I omitted the butter and chips but it still turned out fantastic. This is just the recipe I was looking for, my family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was really good. I cut back the onions to 1/4 c because my kids don't like it that much and I also omit the melted butter because it is completely unnecessary. It also reheats pretty well in the microwave the next day. After that, the chips get a little soggy. One thing to note is that you can definitely taste the sour cream. Sometimes I can sneak it into recipes and my husband (who hates it) doesn't even notice it's there. I didn't even bother trying to get him to tastes this one because I knew he'd hate it. I love it though and will definitely be making this again. My picky toddlers also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I've been making a slightly different version of this basic recipe for years. It's always a big hit with both young and old. I use fresh potatoes instead of the frozen hash browns. Then I add red and green bell peppers. The peppers give it good color and flavor. I mix the melted butter in with the soup. I also use cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of chicken. I use a very good quality cheddar cheese because if you use a cheaper brand it just gets oily and doesn't melt well. I use slightly crushed corn flakes instead of the potato chips. In my opinion it's too salty with chips. For an even heartier, main course version I add cubed ham to this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This is a good recipe but next time I think I would use crushed crackers on top instead of chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I add some green onion and some crumbled bacon! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKEESEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
wayyyyy too much onion for my taste. I also didnt care for the extra grease from the potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Easy to throw together - I actually mixed up the soup, sour cream, cheese and onion on my lunch break threw it in the refrigerator and when I got home added the potatoes. Next time I'll experiment with different cheeses and throw in some red pepper flake for a little pizzaz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States