Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
We've made this recipe for years because everyone loves it. I add dried onions, and sometimes diced ham to make a complete meal. Crushed cornflake-type cereal works well as a topping, too. I also leave out the melted butter and haven't noticed that the casserole tastes worse, because the cheese adds the fat. It's called "Funeral Potatoes" here because it's a staple, always served at dinners for families after a funeral.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. It's very close to a recipe my mom has been making for years except she uses plain corn flakes instead of the potato chips. Much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I make a version of this that my husband's side of the family asks me to make EVERY year for Christmas...they call them "those amazing potatoes". I buy the o'brien style of shredded hashbrowns that have the onion & green pepper in them. If you can't find them, put in your own onion&green pepper...it adds alot of flavor. I never add butter to this dish, with all the cheese, sour cream & cream soup it's not necessary and you won't miss it, trust me! I also like to add fresh minced garlic to the mix...and I also never bother thawing out the hashbrowns as this recipie implies (with the need to press out the excess water) just mix it all together with the hashbrowns in their frozen state. Other soups work nicely, too. We have a vegetarian in the family so instead of cream of chicken I use cream of onion (great flavor booster!) cream of celery or cream of potato. Since I always double this for a crowd, I use two different types of soup. Cr. of onion is my favorite, though! If you want crispy browned edges, remove the foil or lid half way through baking. When it's all bubbly & browned around the edges, it's done. It takes a little over an hour and when doubled, takes more like 1 1/2 hrs. or so. I also think the chips make it too greasy. 2 cups of coursely crushed corn flakes (cereal) mixed with 1/2 c. melted butter is better, I think. If you use durkee fried onions, put them on the last 10-15 min. or they will burn! Don't forget to spray baking dish w/nonstick spray!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This dish is AMAZING! Great comfort food! Be warned its a huge dish and very filling. I made it for my husband and I and had left-overs for a week! But great for a big crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEN123102
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I HAVE NOT MADE THIS IN YEARS SO TONIGHT I DECIDED IT WAS TIME. I SAUTE THE ONIONS IN BUTTER THEN ADD CREAM OF POTATO SOUP , 16 0Z OF SOUR CREAM AND THE CHEESE TO THE PAN AND STIR IT UNTIL IT MELTS THEN I ADD IT TO THE POTATOES ( TONIGHT I ADDED CUBED HAM AS WELL ) . TOPPED WITH CRUSHED CHIPS AND BAKED. I FORGOT HOW YUMMY THIS WAS !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN123102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Amazing casserole! I made some changes for missing ingredients, but the essence was exactly the same. Instead of 2 cups sour cream, I used 2 cups low-fat yogurt. Instead of 2 cups crushed potato chips, I used 1 cup crushed Lays and 1 cup crushed rice Chex, mixed together. I didn't have enough hash browns, so I used leftover polenta to make up the difference. I didn't have fresh cheese, so I used an extra macaroni flavoring packet I had saved and 2 slices of American cheese, cut into small pieces and blended in. I also added diced ham and a sprinkling of garlic salt and onion powder. I took many reviewers' advice and stirred in the butter to the casserole instead of adding it in later. I didn't have any grease on top. Next time, though, I think I will add a little pre-cooked rice to soak up the excess moisture; I found the texture a little too loose. I like a firm casserole. All in all, this recipe competes with or tops my family's long-standing cream-cheese based cheesey hash brown casserole. I am in love! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I love this. I use corn flakes on top, and I also use o'brien potatoes instead of adding onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I did it without the sour cream. I always have an extra bowl of crushed potato chips on the table the kids love adding them, extra crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Nothing says comfort like cheesy potatoes! This is the same recipe my family has been making ever since I can remember! Perfect just how it is, no changes needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GENHUES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States