Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
For fans of sweets and peanut butter, you can't go wrong with a modified version of this candy. There's an art to making it, as attested by all the advice. My family's rule of thumb: one very small potato, boiled in skin until falling apart, pureed (sans skin) and mixed with one pound of powdered sugar (more if a very "wet" potato). Needs plenty of sugar and patience when rolling out. Best served a bit aged (let cut pieces rest a day or two to dry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
It does take a considerable amount more or conf.sugar for this recipe. I also chill the dough before rolling it and I make sure there is plenty of conf.sugar on rolling pin and surface. I loved this candy as a child and was so glad to find the recipe here. My family loves it and it was a hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This was pretty good when I added more sugar.I microwaved a very small potato ( less watery that way) and mashed it up and let it get really cold. Then I added the butter and vanilla. I sprinkled powdered sugar on it and rolled it up. I think microwaving the potato and adding more sugar is the trick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Try eliminating the milk to get a stiffer texture. Mom never added milk. She taught me to make this when I was a child, and I remember having to add cups and cups of sugar. Delicious! A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
Half a cup of powdered sugar is definitely not enough! I had to use like 3 or 4 cups. Not too bad other than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Okay, this recipe is quite time-consuming to prepare, but it can definitely be worth the effort if you just stick to it! As other reviewer's have already stated, the proportions are way off. I also find the dough is MUCH easier to work with if you omit the butter (you really don't need the milk either, but I add a little anyway). You need to keep adding sugar until your arm is ready to fall off from the stirring (stop before then, and your dough is going to be too sticky). For a little over one cup of potato and 1 tbl. milk, I had to use nearly 4 POUNDS of powdered sugar to get the dough to the proper consistency. But once there, my dough didn't even have to be refigerated -- a little more sugar for dusting, and it rolled out like a dream. I introduced my grandmother to this recipe last Christmas (she loves peanut butter), and she said she ate most of what I made herself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkerSolace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
I found that the recipe needed more detailed instructions. It was not an easy candy for me to make. You must make sure that your potato is very cold and the entire process must be kept cold and you need way more than half cup of con. sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
Candy was delicious. Just like my grandmother use to make. The only thing is the powdered sugar amount is much more than what the recipe calls for. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Thank you so much! I enjoyed this candy as a child and have been trying to find a recipe for many, many years. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
My grandmother and I used to make this candy when I was a little girl, I love it! It tastes great with crunchy peanut butter too! Not exactly the quickest candy to make, it takes a lot of patience working with the potato and sugar(and a lot of sugar), but really worth it in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Homestyle Potato Chips

See how to make crispy homemade potato chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States