Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Wish I would have read the reviews before I tried this. I ended up throwing it away. WHAT A WASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This is the same candy my mother made when I was a child! Thanks for bringing back such wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Yes, a LOT more sugar was needed. I think I added more then 1 1/2 pounds of a 2 pound bag of sugar. And make sure the potatoe is cooked very soft or you'll get chunks in the candy. I'm a candy/sweet treat lover and this candy is way too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This recipe reminds me of my Grandma. She made it really basic though with just a small potato, lots of powdered sugar(1-2 boxes) and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. She used a good brand of peanut butter. We all got to help Grandma spread on the peanut butter and roll them up. She then wrapped them in wax paper and refridgerated them until the next day before slicing. This was one of our favorite holiday candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
IF I HADN'T READ THE REVIEWS I WOULD HAVE NEVER FIGURED OUT WHY MY MIXTURE WAS LIKE A MILKSHAKE. i MADE IT 3 TIMES BEFORE I FIGURED OUT YOUR SUGAR AMOUNT WAS OFF WAY OFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Try eliminating the milk to get a stiffer texture. Mom never added milk. She taught me to make this when I was a child, and I remember having to add cups and cups of sugar. Delicious! A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
It does take a considerable amount more or conf.sugar for this recipe. I also chill the dough before rolling it and I make sure there is plenty of conf.sugar on rolling pin and surface. I loved this candy as a child and was so glad to find the recipe here. My family loves it and it was a hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
Candy was delicious. Just like my grandmother use to make. The only thing is the powdered sugar amount is much more than what the recipe calls for. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
Had this candy as a child. Was thrilled to find it here. The candy tasted great, however it was a little difficult to roll the dough. Even after sprinkling with conf. sugar, it still was a little too sticky to roll. Tasted even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
Half a cup of powdered sugar is definitely not enough! I had to use like 3 or 4 cups. Not too bad other than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States