Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
The first time I tried to make it was last year. It was AWEFUL!!! to make!!! the potato/sugar dough was WAY too sweet for me, however, my two boys LOVED it hence the 3 stars. That was the only thing they requested I make again this year. So although I am dreading it.. I will try again. Im hoping some of the suggestions people have made will make a differnce. however, if you are just looking for something different you might try "maine potato candy" its like a mounds bar :) and SOOOOO much easier to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Blain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
my grandkids love this.Just remember if potatoes are wet you will need more powder sugar to make,and dryer it would be less,My mom use to use left over potatoes to make for us when growing up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I grew up eating this candy. It was always a special treat. The ingredients provided in this recipe are a bit off but the essentials are all there. It is my favorite candy ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
this is a good recipe, have made this for years but the secret to this recipe is the potato has to be a red potato and it has to be cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHYLMORE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I've been making this since I was big enough to stand on a chair at the kitchen counter. We just always used left-over mashed potaoes as the base. (milk and butter already in them) As everyone has stated, it takes quite a bit more 10x sugar than stated here. Just to change it up a little, try shaved chocolate added on top of the peanut butter before rolling. And my kids love it when I use chunky peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This has always been a tradition in my family, usually made after large family holiday dinners and instead of cooking up a potato just for the candy we always used leftover mashed potatoes from the family meal. Only ever needed about 2 tablespoons and alot of powdered sugar. Very sweet but brings back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Hint: Have extra conf. sugar (powdered sugar on hand). I have made potato candy before & I sometimes need to add extra because my dough was to soft. I use for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
1 boiled potato, 1 cup pecans finely chopped, 1 tsp. vanilla, i use my kitchen aid mixer, as the dough gets to stiff for a hand mixer, add conf. sugar until dough like, roll out until thin, spread peanut butter, i roll it about 3 times then cut, and slice about a half inch thick, keep rolling and cutting until all is cut, place wax paper in tin can, layer and repeat. this is not as sweet because of the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
my mom used to make that i love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very disappointed the reciepe is not clear on measurements! It takes more than one bag still not firm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States