Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I just found this recipe and am tickled to death! My Mama used ti make this when I was a child and it is delicious! It is a bit of work but well worth it. I can not wait to make it as I lost the recipe and Mama passed away several years ago. I was glad to look at the other reviews and find out about the extra sugar since I don't want to be disappointed and bragged to my husband about how good it is. You married women know how it is to fix something for your husband and for it not to turn out! THANK-YOU SO MUCH RHONDA! GOD BLESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I love this candy! My Grandma made it for us during the holidays and our family Christmas get together always included a few rolls of this. It looks so pretty when it is sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GareysGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I can't believe I stumbled across this recipe!! My grandmother passed this recipe on to my mother who then passed it on to me! This is a very old (and delicious!) recipe. I don't make it often though because it is "too" good! Let's just say, I tend to overindulge! Wonderful if you've got a real sweet-tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
RECIPE WORKED GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Yeah - it works out fine, but you were WAY off on the amount of powdered sugar needed. I must have added at least 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This was pretty good when I added more sugar.I microwaved a very small potato ( less watery that way) and mashed it up and let it get really cold. Then I added the butter and vanilla. I sprinkled powdered sugar on it and rolled it up. I think microwaving the potato and adding more sugar is the trick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
My mother-in-law makes this recipe every year for christmas. when she does it, she uses a medium sized potatoe, and close to 4 llbs of confectioners sugar. Before rolling it out (this is where the grandkids get to have fun) it is divided into usually 6 bowls. We will add flavoring then add food coloring to identify with the flavors. Then we will roll it out and spread the peanut butter. A few of the flavors that we use are maple, rum, brandy, and pepperment. One thing to remember with the flavoring though is to keep in mind that the flavor will weaken as the candy dry's out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
For fans of sweets and peanut butter, you can't go wrong with a modified version of this candy. There's an art to making it, as attested by all the advice. My family's rule of thumb: one very small potato, boiled in skin until falling apart, pureed (sans skin) and mixed with one pound of powdered sugar (more if a very "wet" potato). Needs plenty of sugar and patience when rolling out. Best served a bit aged (let cut pieces rest a day or two to dry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
My mom makes this every year at Christmas time! Tho she uses a whole small potato, no milk, and adds a touch of vanilla. Also you will need LOTS more powdered sugar than called for. This is a very sweet and rich candy, and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Wish I would have read the reviews before I tried this. I ended up throwing it away. WHAT A WASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Homestyle Potato Chips

See how to make crispy homemade potato chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States