Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
The recipe that was handed down to me was alot easier. All you do is bake or microwave a reg. size potato, mash, add one bag of powdered sugar, roll out,spread peanut butter on top,roll up, rap with plastic rap and refridgerate. Then slice up. This is alot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is a great recipe for potato candy! I used more sugar as many reviewers did but the candy turned out wonderful! I made it for a Christmas gathering at my place and it was one of the first things gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My great grandma made this recipe every Xmas. One variation is to take the potato candy mixture before you spread on the peanut butter and mold it into balls. Press a marischino cherry half or a walnut into each ball to form a patty. Also, you can stir in coconut to the candy which adds a nice flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Okay, this recipe is quite time-consuming to prepare, but it can definitely be worth the effort if you just stick to it! As other reviewer's have already stated, the proportions are way off. I also find the dough is MUCH easier to work with if you omit the butter (you really don't need the milk either, but I add a little anyway). You need to keep adding sugar until your arm is ready to fall off from the stirring (stop before then, and your dough is going to be too sticky). For a little over one cup of potato and 1 tbl. milk, I had to use nearly 4 POUNDS of powdered sugar to get the dough to the proper consistency. But once there, my dough didn't even have to be refigerated -- a little more sugar for dusting, and it rolled out like a dream. I introduced my grandmother to this recipe last Christmas (she loves peanut butter), and she said she ate most of what I made herself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkerSolace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I was going to submit my recipe for the potato candy that my family has made since the 1885. The amounts are different, but we make it in 10-12 serving batches. And it is true, you do NOT taste the potato. Beware though because it is very sweet; a piece or two will usually do for each person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMarilyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was so helpful!! I've tried several times to make this recipe in the past, this one was the right consistancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Very similar to my receipe. Instead of rolling and slicing the candy. I use a oblong pan, add nuts to the potato mixture, and coat the top with melted chocolate, and then cut into serving size squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannette schmidt
Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Great recipe! Just be careful when adding sugar, particularly if you are like me and also use powdered sugar to prevent the dough from sticking to the rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I agree with the other reviews that you definitely need a WHOLE lot more powdered sugar and better instructions. What should have been easy to roll turned into a sloppy mess. I took the potato and sugar mixture, sprayed a 9X13 pan, did a layer of mixture - put in freezer to harden, spread peanut butter GENTLY, then topped of with remaining mixture to try and make squares as a last resort. Way too much headache for what should have been an easy log. I say this not to slam person who submitted recipe - but to give an alternate ending in case yours turns out like mine did. I used a big bag of confectioner's sugar and didn't have anymore. It was big!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Thank you so much! I enjoyed this candy as a child and have been trying to find a recipe for many, many years. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States