Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
These were easy and Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was great ! My husband and I both had mothers that made these , never with cheese tho. I was worried about my skill in the layering part, so I added some into the mixture .. and WOW .. sooo goood .. TYTYTY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
A pinch of garlic is intended to season the flour- not the mashed potatoes. If this recipe came out bland, it is because you need to spruce up your mashed recipe. I food processored boiled potatoes with; a whole lightly oiled, salted and roasted sweet onion, a little butter and a half potato water/half milk blend to get them just a little too damp for the plate..then cooled overnight. (Advance planning) What I didn't count on was nearly every recipe calling for grated, which was not what I was going for. I needed proportions, and this was perfect.. Because my potatoes were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena Simi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Can't mess up potatoes, and this recipe was just ok....But I had preferred not to use eggs in the recipe. It was too smooth a batter and did not make for a good crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe!! Just needs a little salt. To each their own. Tastes like my great grandmothers! My son was iffy but tasted them as is the rule in my house and next thing u know they were gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Case
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These are the potato cakes that reminded me of childhood! I used my electric skillet and they turned out really well!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Case

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I added a little extra garlic salt and pepper and my family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TOM
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written, which everyone should do if they plan to review any recipe. It was absolutely wonderful! I could have added an extra pinch of garlic salt, but they were really good. They tasted just like the ones my mom made when I was growing up. This is definitely a recipe I will use again and again. Thanks, Dave, for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Craigsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
So yummy! I made these this morning. I added onion powder, a touch of cayenne, and used Monterey Jack, cheddar, and mozzarella mix in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I am so excited to find this recipe! Except for the cheese and garlic, it is same as the one my mom made 50-60 yrs ago and I have lost it since! Thank you thank you. We used to put leftover gravy over them...oh so bad but so delicious!!! Can't wait to make them, with GARLIC - everything is better with garlic and fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States