Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I just made this and is so good i did add a little flour when i blended it to thickin it up some but other than that i followed the recipe. Is definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made it the first time as written and it was bland and not my texture at all. The second time around I used more potatoes and cut them into bigger cubes, I used more broccoli (around 4-5 cups) and I blended slightly more than half of the soup. I dashed some paprika in as well. A lot of people have complained that it was too watery, but I didn't find that at all. If you stick to the recipe it is going to be bland, so add some spices to give it that extra umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Delicious! The only changes I made were to add garlic with the onions and milk when the soup was done as others suggested. I waited to add the cheese at the table and was glad for it. It gets very stringy when you add a nice handful. I was concerned about how green it looked when I puréed part of the batch, but the cheese returned the color to a more kid-friendly hue. Speaking of kids, they both said the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very watery. It was the first time in 10 years my husband has not wanted to eat something that I made. I couldn't eat it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I did make a few adjustments. I doubled the recipe, and instead of using 10 cups of water, I did 5 cups of water (with the bullion cube) and 3 cups of milk and 1 cup of heavy cream. I also sauteed some onion and garlic to put in with it. My family and I loved it, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I sauteed a bag of frozen brussels sprouts and pureed it along with the broccoli and potatoes. It still tasted like amazing broccoli soup! And extra veges, hidden and my kids loved it! I topped each bowl with a little cream and shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was a deliciously easy and awesome recipe for broccoli potato and cheddar soup. I did add a can of evaporated milk as another reviewer suggested. It helped with the creaminess quite a bit. I didn't need a to add any salt at all due to the salt in the bullion . So taste before you season. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I added a pound of bacon to this and it was AMAZING! I liked this a little more on the chunky side, so I only blended about a quarter of the soup as apposed to half. This was a very filling dish, perfect for a cold rainy or snowy day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie_1283

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
The appearance of this soup is a huge put-off. And the texture isn't much better! I ended up adding corn starch to thicken it, and i served it over white rice, and chicken, because there was no way we could eat it as soup. The taste was fine after seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronna Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This recipe rocked my world! I made it for my bf, though, and since he's a vegetarian, I substituted the bouillon cubes for one can of cream of mushroom soup + 2 cans of water to dilute it (so that my soup could come to a boil w/o burning). I also halved the amount of cheddar cheese as I didn't want to overpower the subtle flavors of the broccoli and potato. I'd recommend this to anyone; it makes a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States