Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cb0604
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great recipe. Few changes I made. I didn't have onion so I used about 1/2 cup of dry onion flakes. Added 3 crushed Garlic cloves. Added 2 cans Swanson chicken broth and 1 cup half and half instead of bouillon and water. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clea Carty
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I used 6 c of water with 6 veggie cubes(prefer that flavor over chicken), 5 c of cubed potatoes, 2 c onions, 3 c broccoli, garlic and also garlic powder. Followed everything except I put the broccoli to cook with the last 5 mins of the potatoes. Also put the chopped garlic in the last 2 mins of the onions. In the end, added a 1/2 c evaporated milk for some extra creaminess, garlic powder to taste, and used a potato masher to break up everything but still keep some texture. Then added some sliced carrots I had boiling in veggie broth on the side. It was absolutely yummy! Will be making again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clea Carty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Next time I will decrease potatoes, and increase broccoli. I used chicken broth I and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Cheddar Broccoli soup is my favorite soup. However this recipe didn't really hit the spot. I realized as I was making it that there was no milk on the list, but I continued on anyway. It was watery, not creamy. Also, not very cheesy and the potato sort of overwhelmed all other flavors. I probably won't be making this one again. But if I did, I would do half water, half milk; half the amount of potato; and also add some more cheese. Which changes the whole recipe and no longer makes it Ruth's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Served the cheese (and some sour cream) on the side. I also added garlic. Made a tasty (and healthy with serving cheese on the side) and quick meal. I used steamer broccoli and this was a quick, no-fuss meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by mikepalm
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Big Hit!!! My fiancé is vegetarian, so I used veggie Bouillon instead of chicken. Next time I may add a little Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is one of the best soup recipes that I have made! I added 3 chopped garlic cloves along with the onions, I also added 2 finely chopped carrots for color. Then I pureed half the soup mixture with out the broccoli, then threw in the raw broccoli and cooked until tender then added the cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Soup tasted great, but my goof up was that my cheddar cheese clumped up into a big mess! Not the recipe's fault at all. I think maybe my heat was a little too high. We ate what we could. I'll try it again when I get over my anguish at loosing an expensive chunk on cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
The main reason why I chose this recipe was that I had a few heads of broccoli that were looking a little ragged. I had bought them the week before because they were on sale and I will not ever throw out food if I can help it. This is a great recipe! I made minor adjustments, but only because of laziness. I may have put in a few extra potatoes (I couldn't leave just 4 little ones in the bag!) so it was pretty thick. Used others' suggestions to cook the broccoli in the soup (also adds more flavor). I did not find the need to peel the potatoes or the broccoli, mainly because I'm lazy and I like potato skins. Put the whole thing in the food processor to get a better consistency. This thickens it up as well to those who complained theirs was watery, because mine wasn't AT ALL. Thinned it out with some heavy cream and served it with the cheese on the side. My kids loved it and this re-heated well, thinking of making a bigger batch next time to freeze for bag lunches - without cream, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arce Cristina
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
For a 2 year old that loves broccoli, yep excellent soup. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arce Cristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States