Potato Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
YUMMY Bread! I've been looking for a potato bread recipe for years and this is it. I made this to go with some Guinness Stew and it was fantastic. I cut back the salt to half and couldn't manage to work in all the flour, but the bread was still solid but not heavy and SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This is my standard recipe for pizza crust dough. I tweeked it a little by adding less salt and a little more sugar. I use the quick rise yeast instead of the active-dry yeast. I preheat my oven to the warm setting and then shut it off right before I put the bowl of dough, covered with a moist towel, in to rise. I never have trouble with the dough not rising. I just love the flavor of this bread. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
WOW!! This bread is amazing! Some reviewers said that their bread was dense, but my bread was incredibly light (perhaps because I let them rise a little longer on the second rise). It is soo tender! My family really enjoyed this recipe...the bread it produced was my best yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This was so good, and it impressed my family. They asked me if I used instant mashed potatoes, and I proudly told them, nope, I used real potatoes. Every last bit of this bread was gone in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This bread was great, and it keeps well. This will be my standard recipe when I have left-over mashed potatoes. Thumbs up and Thank-you Judy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This is very good, hearty bread. I used 1 1/2 cups less flour, and it still was too heavy and thus it didn't rise as well. It ia so good though . . . both loaves where gone before they had time to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This is a great bread recipe! My mom loves a particular potato bread she buys at the farmer's market, and I was trying to duplicate it. This was very close! I left the potatoes a little "chunky" instead of mashing completely, and I reduced the salt to one teaspoon, and it tasted fine. I had to cut the baking time quite a bit, the loaves were ready in about 30 minutes. I liked the recipe so much that I made two batches today, one batch for my mom and one batch for my hubby and son to enjoy, which they did! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Thank you, I used to make this recipe for my pizzas and it is wonderful. The moment I saw the ingredients I knew it was what I was looking for. Thank you, again. Tejani
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
One of my favorite bread recipes, ever since I found it on this site last year. This is a very moist bread, and goes really well with a thick beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I thought this bread tased very good..But i followed the recipe tothe letter and had a problem with the bread rising..might have been the yeast that i had ....all and all a very good recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States