Potato Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
It's a wonderful recipe. I used the leftover mashed potato fm our New Year dinner and with all the garlic and herbs, it just made this bread even more savory. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful. It came out so soft! I did end up using quite a bit less flour like other reviewers mentioned, and it took a little longer to rise, but my house is cold and that isn't unusal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This bread doesn't last long around here. I made it with leftover mashed red potatoes and I was a bit worried about how heavy and dense the dough was, but it turned out lovely. Made it again with the same great results. Soft yet substantial, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Yummmm!!! This is so good. The only changes I made was to use margarine instead of shortening and I doubled the recipe. A delicious treat eaten warm with butter and honey. Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Delicious bread! Soft and fluffy with a chewy crust. My second rise did take a bit longer for the dough to double in size (about 40 min) but make sure you are using the correct type of yeast! "Active dry" and "rapid rise" yeast do have different baking methods and you may have problems with the rising process if you try and interchange them. I used closer to 5 c of flour, but a lot of that depends on your humidity, how much water you added to the potato mix, etc. Getting the texture of the kneaded dough right (soft and elastic) is much more important then trying to get in all 6 1/2 c of flour. I brushed an egg wash over the tops and they were a little darker then I would have liked within 40 min so next time I will check it a little earlier. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Good bread--just a little too thick for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I made this with left over garlic mashed potatoes - it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIOPEIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was delicious! I made it today to go along with Thanksgiving dinner. Very moist. Would make again. One thing I might mention is that I used only 5 cups of the 6.5 cups of flour called for and even that was stretching it. Not sure why. Maybe because it's so dry out here in West Texas!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I have to give this a 5 star! I was looking for a recipe that emulated Martin's potato rolls. This didn't, however I loved the texture. It was light and fluffy, yet had a heavier mouth-feel than I expected. Very good. The flavor isn't a strong potato flavor that I was going for, but I was pleasantly surprised. The texture is also very good as hamburger buns. My suggestion is to add a little more potato and instead of shortening, add vegetable or canola oil. I also kneeded it for about a half hour, just because I got lost in thought and realized it when I looked at the clock. proofed very nicely in a bowl using any pan spray with a damp towel draped across the top. personally, I let my breads proof in a warmed oven, and they rise amazingly well. I took half of the recipe and made rolls, and the other half made a twist bread out of. (rolled it into an inch thick rectangle, cut the half dough in half, twisted two pieces, and repeated with the other side. placed them side by side in the loaf pan tucking the ends under. I'll take a picture before I slice into it. I also use a double-egg wash. 1 egg with a tablespoon of water while dough is well... dough. then just before finishing I brush it again. All in all, very well done, and tasty. I can say it was a LOT easier to make in the kitchenaid mixer with a dough hook than it would have been to make by hand, but hey if you want to, go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This bread is very delicious. I tweaked it a bit. I added about a 1/4 c. of milk and then used all of the flour. It produced a very soft loaf. I made it in a boule (round) shape and it was very beautiful. the other loaf I made in a loaf pan, and it was not so pretty but still very yummy. Can't wait to see what my co-workers think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States