Potato Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This bread is tasty the first day, but dries out quickly. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Judy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
great for sandwiches! I added probably 1 tsp. veg. oil. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This recipe makes a nice dense, chewy bread. While some reviewers didn't care for the chewiness, I like it. It's reminiscent of the texture of French bread without the crispy crust. I think I should've left the loaves to rise a bit longer in the pans to get more height but other than that I liked how this bread turned out. It's best when eaten shortly after baking, in my humble opinion. The following day the denseness of the bread made it heavy and not as satisfying to eat (which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5). I intend to try toasting it which is my way of taking care of day old bread ;) FYI: I made only one small change to the ingredients and that was to use butter instead of shortening. I also used my mixer instead of kneading by hand. The dough was very soft but manageable when turned out onto a generously floured board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARICAM58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
My husband and I usually buy potato bread at the store. I got the idea to make it last night and it wurned out great. it is just moist enough to eat alone or with some butter or dry and sturdy enough for thin sandwich slices. I made 1 really large loaf and 4 smaller "dinner" rolls. This bread rose SO BIG. I put it in the oven with only the pilot light on. It tastes wayyyy better than any store bought bread! I had to use 2 small potatoes. I would like to add in this review (for search purposes) that this is a vegan bread with out milk and egg. I had a hard time finding a good vegan potato bread when I searched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
we loved this bread. I used double the potato the recipe called for and left the skins on my potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeVere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashton
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I liked this recipe and it was very very yummy, but not the BEST i've ever had. Just a tad blan, but not much! I did double the potato it called for, but this made it a little more dense. I also got a little impatient after the 2nd rising and now think it would've been fluffier if i would've waited 40 min instead of 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Good! Especially as a side for a soup or a hearty winter meal. Not quite a stand alone item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was really good. My bread was tasty even 3 days later but after that it lost its moistness. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This just did not have the potato flavor we were hoping for. Won't waste my time making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Excellent bread. I tweaked it a bit. I used bread flour. Five and a half cups and butter instead of shortening. Used milk to come up to 2cups, as I remember my mother using milk in her potato bread. I also added wheat gluten. The result was light and fluffy. My husband said this was his favorite bread. Thank you for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States