Potato Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This bread came out wonderful. Light. Flavorful. Perfect. I made two changes. I mixed the salt in with the dry flour and I used butter instead of shortening. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliciad54

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Bread came out very fluffy and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I substituted unsalted sweet cream butter for shortening; and brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also used unbleached flour. I could only work in 5 cups of dough and I overbaked mine (baked it for 41 minutes) and the outer crust came out pretty dark. The taste inside is excellent though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very dense texture as other reviewers have said, but I did only add part of the yeast so that could be why. The bread turns out very moist and isn't too crumbly which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is my favorite bread. I've made it twice in the past two weeks. The first batch I replaced 1/2 cup of the water with milk, which I scalded and added butter instead of the oil called for. The second time I used only the water called for. I think using the milk makes a more tender loaf. I got two beautifully risen, light and fluffy loaves from this recipe using only about 5 cups of flour. What I like most about this bread is the flavor. The yeast does not overpower the bread's flavor, it's more of a back note, which I think is perfect. I used the rapid rise yeast and reduced the amount to 3 1/2 tsp. Thanks, Judy, this will be made again and again, my family absolutely loves it...and so do I. . BTW:..Do not expect this bread to taste like potatoes. Potato has a very neutral flavor. It's purpose is to fuel the yeast and add moisture and lightness to the bread. Make sure you use only enough flour to produce a slightly tacky feeling dough if you want the bread to turn out light and fluffy. About 5+/- cups of flour should work. Again, feel the dough, it should be smooth and tacky, not sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I make bread alot, at least once a week by hand, but this is my first potato bread. The recipe was very good except for a couple things. First, it isn't very specific about the potato. My potatos were about medium sized, about 4 inches long, and it didn't seem like very much so I used 2 of them. I think I could have used 3. Second, I think it is too much salt, and I'm a person who usually uses more salt than called for. I used 1 tbsp as called for, and was dissapointed that salt was the breads dominant flavor. I will cut the salt in half next time. Third, this doesn't really make 2 loaves. After I took out a very small amount of dough to fry in a pan for my breakfsast, (my favorite breakfast since childhood) I had enough dough left for one good sized loaf. If you really want 2 large loafs, double the recipe. Otherwise a good recipe and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is a great bread, it's also quite easy to do. I made a change, and would make another, but a wonderful basic recipe. My Aunt won the Colorado State Fair when she was in high school with a potato bread. I didn't have the recipe available, but I remembered that it used dry milk. So I added in 2 Tbsp dry milk, and it make it very sweet and smooth. The change that I would make is one suggested by another reader. She let hers rise longer before baking it to make it lighter. I agree, you should double the time on the second rise. I made it 50% longer, and I wish it was a little more. Also, be warned you can only make 2 cups of potato from 1 potato if you have a huge tuber. I had to make up the difference with some emergency instant mashed potatoes. So I would correct it to say 1 very large, or 2 medium potatoes. With just a few tweaks, you will LOVE this simple bread. It makes great rolls too! (Just make sure to cut baking time down to 20 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I made this as dinner rolls instead of a bread, and they were fabulous. They had a nice crisp crust on the outside and a soft, airy center. The recipe makes enough for about three dozen batches if you make small rolls. I added a little garlic salt for more flavor. Next time I might use a little more potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
My first time making bread at all and it turned out very well. The crust was a little harder than I wanted but will cover with foil a little bit earlier next time and that should help. A little more denser than expected too, but I think the foil will help with that also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Great recipe! I took advice from another reviewer and added more potato (2.5 cups) and used oil instead of lard. I also like to proof the yeast first, so added the yeast to the warm potato water with sugar and let it work it's magic for about 20 minutes. I worked in about 5.5 cups of flour and let it rise in an oiled bowl for about 90 minutes. After punching it down and working in a little more flour, dividing into 2 loaf pans, I ended up with 2 loaves that just burst out of the pans. We'll be enjoying super sized delicious bread for a week or so. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States