Potato Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Megan F
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Since potato size differs, I used two. After setting aside 1/2 cup of the cooking liquid, I seperated the cooked potatoes from the rest of the water, mashed the potato and used 1 1/4 cup mashed potato and 3/4 cup cooking liquid to make the potato mixture. This worked perfectly for me and if you are nervous about having inconsistent results, I hope it works for you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Light and fluffy with a chewy crust. Excellent as written. The loaf was a bit smaller than usual, though. I might recommend 1.5x recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Ok, this bread is so yummy it turned out great to me. Mine did not raise much but that's cause I did not let the water cool so make sure you do that. Other then that it is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Oh my. Can you say TOAST? We LOVE this bread! I made it with instant potatoes (made them with butter and cream). Let it rise longer on the second rise, and it came out WONDERFULLY! Toast. omnomnom. Toast nom nom nom. Light enough, but not airy. Ideal density and crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now. This recipe makes a beautiful, golden brown loaf of bread. I did use margarine instead of shortening and the potatoes were cooked with fat-free chicken broth and some fat-free evaporated milk. My daughter's favorite bread has always been my homemade honey wheat bread. This is now her favorite and she wants to try it made with sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This was a great recipe. family loved it and its one of the simpler potato bread recipes. Like many others I found that about 5 cups of flour, give or take, worked best. This is now my go to recipe when I have company coming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashslillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe! The texture was perfect as well as the flavor - I'm not sure what the other reviewers were looking for in "potato flavor". Between my husband and three sons, both loaves were gone in 2 and a half days! I did use 9x5 loaf pans, but it didn't fall short in the pan at all - nice, large loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamaraG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I made this recipe and it was great. But, I didn't make bread loaves with it, I made rolls. After letting it rise I punched it down and put it on the scale and came out with a weight of 45.6 OZ divided by 24 (number of rolls)and it came out to 1.9 OZ. Some of the rolls were a little heavy so it only made 22 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belen, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This bread came out wonderful. Light. Flavorful. Perfect. I made two changes. I mixed the salt in with the dry flour and I used butter instead of shortening. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliciad54

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Bread came out very fluffy and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States