Potato Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Good! Especially as a side for a soup or a hearty winter meal. Not quite a stand alone item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was really good. My bread was tasty even 3 days later but after that it lost its moistness. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This just did not have the potato flavor we were hoping for. Won't waste my time making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Excellent bread. I tweaked it a bit. I used bread flour. Five and a half cups and butter instead of shortening. Used milk to come up to 2cups, as I remember my mother using milk in her potato bread. I also added wheat gluten. The result was light and fluffy. My husband said this was his favorite bread. Thank you for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving this year at my mother-in-laws. It was the first yeast bread I'd made in a while, but it turned out pefect. The instructions are very easy to follow and all the amounts were accurate. Everyone loved it, even my husband who isn't really into bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
It's a wonderful recipe. I used the leftover mashed potato fm our New Year dinner and with all the garlic and herbs, it just made this bread even more savory. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful. It came out so soft! I did end up using quite a bit less flour like other reviewers mentioned, and it took a little longer to rise, but my house is cold and that isn't unusal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This bread doesn't last long around here. I made it with leftover mashed red potatoes and I was a bit worried about how heavy and dense the dough was, but it turned out lovely. Made it again with the same great results. Soft yet substantial, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Yummmm!!! This is so good. The only changes I made was to use margarine instead of shortening and I doubled the recipe. A delicious treat eaten warm with butter and honey. Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Delicious bread! Soft and fluffy with a chewy crust. My second rise did take a bit longer for the dough to double in size (about 40 min) but make sure you are using the correct type of yeast! "Active dry" and "rapid rise" yeast do have different baking methods and you may have problems with the rising process if you try and interchange them. I used closer to 5 c of flour, but a lot of that depends on your humidity, how much water you added to the potato mix, etc. Getting the texture of the kneaded dough right (soft and elastic) is much more important then trying to get in all 6 1/2 c of flour. I brushed an egg wash over the tops and they were a little darker then I would have liked within 40 min so next time I will check it a little earlier. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States