Potato Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So disappointed, the whole thing sank. I used the correct temperature for the water and new yeast so I'm not sure what went wrong here :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwolff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Quick & easy. Added rosemary; very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamou, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Awesome. Followed the recipe to the letter. Result was a nice, chewy loaf that I loved. I'm not a big white bread fan. I like bread with more wheat and grains in it. This loaf was fantastic though! I am definitely putting it in the regular rotation on my bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
First time making: used wheat flour---maybe a mistake. Loaf didn't rise nearly enough. Will try a second time with 2.25 tsp of yeast, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this last night and am eating it as I write this review. I don't own a bread machine or a Kitchenaid mixer, so I made it by hand. I did substitute 1/2 cup of the water with milk, as I had no dry milk powder and I used all purpose flour plus 1 T essential wheat gluten. I also used 1 package of yeast, because I didn't have the type you measure out. It isn't very potatoy - but it is delicious with a great texture. I'll definitely make it again. This is what I did: I dissolved the salt and sugar in 1/2 + 1/3 cup 110 degree water, then mixed in the yeast. It sat for about 30 min. because I didn't have any potato flakes and had to run and get it. It was nice and foamy. Then I heated the milk to about 110 degrees and whisked it and the oil into the yeast. In another bowl I mixed the flour, gluten and flakes, then stired that into the liquid a little at a time until it could be turned out on a board and I kneeded in the remaining dry ingredients, kneeding about 10 minutes. I placed it in a oiled bowl, oiling the top, and let it raise until doubled. (I warmed my oven slightly then turned it off and sat the bowl in there, door cracked, because my house is cold.) Then I turned it out, patted it into a rectangle and rolled it up for the loaf. I put it in an oiled loaf pan and let it rise again, and baked at 350 for 1/2 hour. I actually forgot to set the timer, so when it looked done I "thumped" it to test it. Then I rubbed butter over the loaf to make the crust soft. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and it was fantastic! I made it the regular way with a mixer and oven. While mixing I had to add 2 tablespoons of water and 1 tablespoon extra of oil because it was a bit dry. I baked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. It came out a golden brown and very tender. Both my wife and I love the way it turned out. Now I can't wait for breakfast in the morning so I can have more without looking like a pig. Thank You Kathy for giving us this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Great, easy recipe! The only thing I did differently was to add a tablespoon of ground flax seed to the water which I always do when making bread. It keeps it fresh longer since there are no preservatives added. Rather than bake bread in my Zoji I bake it in the oven simply because I never have a problem this way. There are too many variables to get a consistant loaf of bread in a machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Very easy to make turned out excellent although my husband said it tastes like the amish bread. not potatoey enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is so darn good! I made mine with my kitchenaide mixer since I don't have a bread machine. Proofed the yeast with all of the water and the sugar for 20 mins. Placed yeast/water mixture in mixer bowl and slowly incorporated the dry ingredients. Worked like a charm. Let it rise first time 45 mins (it had doubled in size), then punched down and kneaded slightly. Formed into rolls (made 24) and placed in lightly greased baking pan. Baked for 25 mins at 350 degrees F. So very yummy! Thank you for the recipe Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States