Potato, Bacon, and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This chowder was amazing. I substituted 2 cups of chicken broth for 2 cups of milk, I also added onion and used celery seed (since I didn't have any celery on hand) garlic-salt and pepper. My family loved it, licked the bowls clean. MMMM MMM GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
AWESOME! I added salt/pepper to taste but other than that I followed it to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
added onion as well. Didn't have quite enough milk so used 1 1/2 cup milk, 1 cup half & half and 1+ cups chicken broth. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I found that this barely served 6 adults as a main course and that was adding 3 extra cups (2 cups of chicken broth) of liquid, 1 onion and 2 potatoes. But the family raved about it. It was delicous and we all licked the bowls and the pot clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aa911911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this recipe as written. I was a little disappointed. It was fine, but not great. I did feel it needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Quite good. I didn't have celery or carrots, so I used some ground celery seed (about 1/2-1 tsp). I used half broth and half milk bc I didn't have enough milk, even for a half batch of the soup. Turned out very well. I served in rye bread bowls, which was good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I agree it is a good basic recipe, quick and easy for a week night meal. I substituted 2 cups broth for 2 of the cups of the milk. I had fresh corn so I used it. Used a little less celery and a little more carrot, just personal preference. A little pepper and it was very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Great comfort food..added some salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I think this is a really good base recipe. First, I doubled the recipe and instead of celery, I used carrot and onion. And because I really wanted some great flavor (we don't like anything bland around here), I substituted one cup of chicken bouillion for one of the cups of milk. I didn't have any canned corn, but I thawed some frozen corn which was perfect. Then I just salt and peppered to taste. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States