Potato, Bacon, and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
So good! I am surprised this doesn't have more reviews. I stuck to the recipe almost completely. We don't like celery so I substituted it with onion and added better than bullion paste to the water. I love this so much that we have made it probably 10 times in the last few months. Play around with the bacon flavors. We used jalapeno bacon and it was really good and added a little spicy kick. Have also used turkey bacon (just add olive oil when cooking veggies if there intensify grease). Thanks for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very easy recipe! I used onions instead of celery, and substituted 2 cups chicken stock for milk. The result was a delicious and simple hearty soup! This recipe was so easy, it's now in the recipe box stored in my brain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This one's a keeper! Based on previous reviews, I subbed a yellow onion for the celery because that's my preferred flavor. I also made this a one pot dish by frying the bacon in my soup pot and then draining off all but 2 tbsp of the bacon grease. I then sweated the onion and carrots in the grease and added the flour once the onions were translucent. Stir and scrape the bottom for a few minutes then slowly incorporate the liquid: I used half milk and half chicken broth. Came out great and I've only got one pot to wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious! We both loved it. It was chunky with all the great fresh vegetables, and the creaminess of it was right on mark. All I did differently was to add a chopped onion. This is going to be great during fall and winter in this house! Thanks for an easy and great soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Add a small can of green chiles & it has more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I added garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel Gould
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Omg! This is delish!! All i did was substitute a cup of milk for a cup of chicken broth....yummmy!! I only made enough for 4. Everybody Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Gould

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaprem Proeung
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Yummm. I only use 2 cups of milk and used water. It came out very good. I don't think I will use the full 4 cups b/c it is creamy enough to suit me. Used fresh corn instead since it was on sale and sliced in some baby bellos. I read some reviewers found the recipe was missing some flavor...throw in some green onions, shredded cheese or croutons! I love it with green onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaprem Proeung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
My husband said this was the best soup I've ever made! Substituted broth for the milk and carrots for celery as suggested and added extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very hearty recipe! I added onions and decided to saute the potatoes in the bacon grease for a few minutes to absorb some of the bacon goodness. I used about 6 cups of milk (feeding many, including 2 big guys!) and doubled up the corn for taste. I used salt, pepper and garlic in saute which was wonderful. French Baguette to sop up the goodness! Mahalo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEN ZERI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States