Potato, Bacon, and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was a great quick and easy recipe we are making it again tonight with the temp being 10 degrees this hearty soup will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaCharCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I (like others mentioned here) used two cups of chicken broth and two cups of milk rather than four cups of milk. Was a good meal for a snowy night. I'll keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coyote bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
this is an amazing soup base. I tried some of the others suggestions and did 2 cups of half and half plus the chicken broth. sauted some garlic with the veggies and kosher salt. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This chowder is so good. I also added onions to the soup. It was great I loved it. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Crowd pleaser; perfect for the onset of autumn! Changes: I added equal parts celery and carrot, with doubled the amount of chopped sweet onion. Added in 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg, splash of liquid smoke and 1 can beef consume. Rather than whole milk I opted for 2%. I did not use bacon in the soup, but did sauté veggies in bacon grease for flavor while controlling fat/salt content. I also used one large bag of frozen corn in this double batch. The whole pot was eaten by 7 hungry adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was really good. I made a couple of changes. Instead of 4 cups of milk I added 2 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of milk. I used 2 stalks of celery 4 would have been too much and I had one extra potato which I added. The extra potato was a bit much so I added more liquid (1/2 cup stock, 1/2 milk cup milk). It was perfect, my family loved it. This recipe was really easy to make and a total keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Good basic recipe. I don't add carrots, I use frozen white corn, more potatoes and a cup of sour cream and it will be outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madhatter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used 2 cups half & half & 2 cups milk and used creamed corn. We used this for our super bowl party & it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Not bad at all, very hearty, but even with s&p it's missing a little something flavor-wise. The next day it's a little more flavorful (i.e. you can taste the bacon more) but even then, needs something extra. The only changes I made were to add an onion and an extra carrot instead of the celery, and use cornstarch instead of flour. Note: it is a potato chowder, not a corn chowder with potatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsVal
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Wonderful, much like I make it, but I don't add the extra veggies. The canned corn, potatoes and bacon, plus the flour, butter and of course milk. A little seasoning of salt and pepper, sometimes a pat of butter and all set! So simple, so comforting, so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States