Potato Arugula Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I didn't wait for the potatoes to cool, but added the arugula and dressing while still hot. This sort of wilted the arugula and caused the potatoes to soak up the dressing. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
My 5-star rating for this recipe speaks for itself as to how much I liked this salad. It's so refreshingly different and really delicious. This is something I'd expect to find in gourmet delis for a bazillion ridiculous dollars a pound. It lends an elegant, unique touch to the table and wakes up the same old cook-out. It would be terrific just as is, but because I have a bunch of stuff in the fridge I want to use I added red, yellow and orange bell pepper, which made this look very festive. For my own personal tastes I changed the white vinegar to 1 T. each of white wine vinegar and lemon juice - I don't like a particularly tangy dressing. I also gave it a couple of shakes of Penzey's Fox Point Seasoning and a drizzle of white truffle oil. I so dislike this expression, but I have to say it - this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This is an easy and delicious salad. We got both potatoes and arugula in our box from our CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) farm. Its a great way to use them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Nice change from traditional potato salad and a different way to use arugula. I added about 1/2 T balsamic vinegar and went light on the oil. Nice side with a grilled london broil. Be warned, though, it is quite strong tasting with the garlic and arugula... for the more adventurous eaters out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Yummy, healthy, and easy to make!! I used lemon juice instead of the vinegar, added the arugula to the warm potatoes, and added some feta cheese crumbles at the end. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Not the best thing I've ever made. The consistency was good, but with the bitterness of the arugula and the acidiness of the vinegar, it made my throat burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Huge hit whenever I serve it. I've also made it with lemon juice substituted for the white vinegar, and have found that many prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
To be honest, I had fairly low expectations for this recipe. The ingredient list looked lack-luster, but I was wrong! It was so good I could have turned it into the main dish! I made a few modifications based on the other reviews. I added 4 chopped hard boiled eggs for richness and switched one tablespoon of the white vinegar for red wine vinegar but most importantly, I added one teaspoon of sugar to the vinaigrette to mellow out the tang of the vinegar. This is a great alternative to your standard arugula salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Nice starter recipe but needed to add my own touch! I liked the suggestion to add the argula and dressing to the hot potatoes. Then I added chopped eggs, a jar of pimentos that I chopped up, and some celery. More salt & pepper. It was delicious with the bitterness of argula, the sweetness of the pimento, and the crunch of celery. The eggs added richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is an excellent summer salad. I got fresh arugula and garlic at the farmers market and was looking for something unique to do with them. I did make a few small changes, other reviews emphasized a sort of wilted arugula approach, so I followed their advice. I also substituted red wine vinegar and added 1/2 teaspoon crushed mustard and 1/2 teaspoon sugar. These additions helped balance out the vinegar and arugula bitters. I served it as a side to chicken parmesan for a friends birthday and by the end of the night there were no leftovers! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1JenBug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States