Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These are very good. I have a lushious variation that I use though. I mix lean ground pork and finely chopped raw shrimp for the meat. I don't cook the pork and shrimp before mixing with other ingredients. I also use nappa cabbage instead of regular cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I just made these for christmas for my Chinese family, and boy was I scared. My first time making pot stickers and my aunt who had to go back to China is an amazing cook. How am I supposed to match hers? This really was amazing. honestly they were the first things gone at the table. My cousin ate 12 of them before I told her to stop to save some for my husband. I used ground ginger instead of the slices, didn't do the water chestnuts and I didn't do the sauce and I used most of the 1/2 of a medium head. I also added some shrimp. I think next time I will add a bit more green onion, but otherwise my family was VERY impressed and I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyoung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe! I've used other pot sticker recipes before and they never turned out with the flavor that I liked but this recipe is very flavorful and delicious. I found that if I seal the pot sticker with egg, the edges will stick better. Also, I will cover the pan immediately after pouring the water into the frying pan because the oil will not mix well with the water and it will splatter all over the place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Gotta tellya, not the greatest considering the effort level. I think the key issue is the 'pre-cooking' of the pork. Traditional pot-stickers have a raw meat filling that holds together nicely when cooked in the pan. The filling here felt loose and crumbly, even when packed in tight. I'd be interested in trying this again without pre-cooked pork to see how it works out since the flavors are all there. It's just that as written, the consistency is all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Corcoran

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very good pot stickers! I did not cook the meat ahead of time, just placed it right into the wrappers, browned them and then steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Used a little less cabbage and added some minced carrots instead of water chestnuts. Boiled in half water half chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
There's absolutely no reason to give these less than 5 stars. This is not a dangerous recipe. It's very common and quite easy once you get the hang of it. The reason why they're potstickers involves the frying/steaming method. Once they fry up on the bottoms, you add the water, cover and let them steam til they're cooked. The water should be absorbed and then the dumplings will stick to your pan...you want to let them fry like that for another minute or two to get that nice crispiness. These can also be steamed in a bamboo steamer to make steamed dumplings just as easily. Also, you do not have to cook the pork ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This recipe is really worth the effort! My only change was to add a dash of oyster sauce, and fresh minced garlic. They freeze nice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
These were a little time consuming for me, but worth it. I did keep the meat mixture raw and it made about 32 for me. I placed them on a cookie sheet and froze them and then placed them in baggies of 8 for later meals. When I pulled them out, I put on a cookie sheet again, sprayed them with cooking spray, and baked at 375 for 15 mins or so (until they were looking brown and crispy). Served with egg drop soup II from this site and oriental dipping sauce also from this site. Great light dinner. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States