Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These are very good! I agree though that meat does not have to be precooked, 8 minutes is ample time to steam a Tbsp pf pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Careful with the sugar. Mine were a tad too sweet, but were otherwise very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These tasted great, that was not the issue. I did have a huge problem with cooking them, however. First of all, I bought egg roll wrappers and then saw that the recipe said to fill with 1 Tablespoon of filling, so I cut my wrappers into 4ths. Then I wrapped them all, which if you take 15 wrappers and multiply them by 15, it was a BIT time consuming. I then cooked them exactly how it is suggested in the recipe. It was a disaster. They would not come off of the pan for the life of me. I had about 50 left to cook, so I tried various different tricks to try and get them not to stick, which all failed. I know they are called 'potstickers', but how is it worth all of the work if you are left with a ripped up mess of cabbage and dumpling tops? I was so frustrated after the 3 hours of making dinner I almost chucked the pan accross the room. Granted, I've never made potstickers before, so maybe I'm missing some trick, or something, but it should be in the recipe if there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Hands down delicious. I used napa cabbage instead of the regular cabbage and added a handful of shredded cabbage that was kicking around my crisper. I didn't cook the pork ahead of time, but rather, added four minutes to the steaming time. They were cooked perfectly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These are very good. I have a lushious variation that I use though. I mix lean ground pork and finely chopped raw shrimp for the meat. I don't cook the pork and shrimp before mixing with other ingredients. I also use nappa cabbage instead of regular cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I just made these for christmas for my Chinese family, and boy was I scared. My first time making pot stickers and my aunt who had to go back to China is an amazing cook. How am I supposed to match hers? This really was amazing. honestly they were the first things gone at the table. My cousin ate 12 of them before I told her to stop to save some for my husband. I used ground ginger instead of the slices, didn't do the water chestnuts and I didn't do the sauce and I used most of the 1/2 of a medium head. I also added some shrimp. I think next time I will add a bit more green onion, but otherwise my family was VERY impressed and I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyoung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe! I've used other pot sticker recipes before and they never turned out with the flavor that I liked but this recipe is very flavorful and delicious. I found that if I seal the pot sticker with egg, the edges will stick better. Also, I will cover the pan immediately after pouring the water into the frying pan because the oil will not mix well with the water and it will splatter all over the place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Gotta tellya, not the greatest considering the effort level. I think the key issue is the 'pre-cooking' of the pork. Traditional pot-stickers have a raw meat filling that holds together nicely when cooked in the pan. The filling here felt loose and crumbly, even when packed in tight. I'd be interested in trying this again without pre-cooked pork to see how it works out since the flavors are all there. It's just that as written, the consistency is all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PGCorky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very good pot stickers! I did not cook the meat ahead of time, just placed it right into the wrappers, browned them and then steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States