Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Love it. Used stuff that we like in them, but was never quite sure just on how to fry them up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this for Chinese New Year and they were delicious. Had a hard time cooking them though. Since I used raw pork I decided to boil for 5 minutes and then fry them. Boiling worked good except they became very fragile. Frying them in a skillet was a disaster. They completely stuck to the pan and I could not get them off, thus ruining them. So with the rest of them I fried them on my non stick skillet and that seemed to work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
DELICIOUS recipe, but you should follow comments on cooking directions. Lots of great flavor! The filling was so good I found myself eating a bit of it here and there as I stuffed the dumplings. For cooking, I recommend steaming the dumplings first, then pan frying them just enough to darken them and make them crispy. I tried the way described in the recipe and I couldn't get them to come out right, plus there was a lot of spattering, even in a deep pot. TIP: Mix a little corn starch and water to make a glue to seal the dumplings. It works REALLY well without altering the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
ARE YOU KIDDING?? these are perfect, easy and totally fantastic! I did not add the water chestnuts, cut everything super fine and DO NOT cook the pork first. If you don't want the oil and water to splatter when you add together, take the pan off the heat for 15 to 20 seconds..add water, cover..ALL GOOD. It really makes 15-16 little guys, takes about 10-15 minutes of cook time. SUPER-DUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dillon, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These are very good! I agree though that meat does not have to be precooked, 8 minutes is ample time to steam a Tbsp pf pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Careful with the sugar. Mine were a tad too sweet, but were otherwise very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These tasted great, that was not the issue. I did have a huge problem with cooking them, however. First of all, I bought egg roll wrappers and then saw that the recipe said to fill with 1 Tablespoon of filling, so I cut my wrappers into 4ths. Then I wrapped them all, which if you take 15 wrappers and multiply them by 15, it was a BIT time consuming. I then cooked them exactly how it is suggested in the recipe. It was a disaster. They would not come off of the pan for the life of me. I had about 50 left to cook, so I tried various different tricks to try and get them not to stick, which all failed. I know they are called 'potstickers', but how is it worth all of the work if you are left with a ripped up mess of cabbage and dumpling tops? I was so frustrated after the 3 hours of making dinner I almost chucked the pan accross the room. Granted, I've never made potstickers before, so maybe I'm missing some trick, or something, but it should be in the recipe if there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Hands down delicious. I used napa cabbage instead of the regular cabbage and added a handful of shredded cabbage that was kicking around my crisper. I didn't cook the pork ahead of time, but rather, added four minutes to the steaming time. They were cooked perfectly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These are very good. I have a lushious variation that I use though. I mix lean ground pork and finely chopped raw shrimp for the meat. I don't cook the pork and shrimp before mixing with other ingredients. I also use nappa cabbage instead of regular cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I just made these for christmas for my Chinese family, and boy was I scared. My first time making pot stickers and my aunt who had to go back to China is an amazing cook. How am I supposed to match hers? This really was amazing. honestly they were the first things gone at the table. My cousin ate 12 of them before I told her to stop to save some for my husband. I used ground ginger instead of the slices, didn't do the water chestnuts and I didn't do the sauce and I used most of the 1/2 of a medium head. I also added some shrimp. I think next time I will add a bit more green onion, but otherwise my family was VERY impressed and I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyoung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States