Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
The only things I change are that I use the traditional dumpling wrapper, the round ones. They do taste completely different to me than the egg roll wrappers and fry up in a different texture. I also don't add cabbage as that makes it more of an egg roll. When you put them in the oil, once they brown, flip them then add the water and cook till the water is gone with a lid on so they steam. Don't add the water too soon...only once they have browned on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
better than restaurant! try the gyoza sauce too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
WOW, Beyond all expectations!!! Really, really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Taste like the authentic pot stickers that I grew up with when I was a kid. The only change i made was added a little sherry to it. I also wrapped it with potsticker (round) wrappers rather than wonton wrappers. I made a dip, using 2 Tb soy sauce, 2 Tb water, 1 Tb rice wine vinegar, green onions, ginger & sesame oil. Really good! I would fry the bottoms of the pot stickers til it browns on bottom, throw in about 3-4 Tb of water, put lid on and it's ready when the water are all absorbed. I will try it next time boiling it, like I remembered when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
My family did not like this one bit. It was very bland. I will not be adding this to recipes to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I really liked this recipe but made the following changes: I used raw ground turkey; I obmitted the cabbage and added a minced stalk of celery and 1/4 cup minced water chestnuts. I browned the potstickers in butter with a little bit of sesame seed oil added. Delicious! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I used ground turkey, salt & pepper, & chopped red onions since that was all I had. Fry for 4-5 minutes until the bottom side is brown, added 1 cup of water & covered for 10 minutes. I mixed ponzu & siracha for the dipping sauce. You do not need to precook the meat. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I had never seen a recipe for pot stickers that called for the pork to be precooked, but decided to try it. The filling would not stay together. It was hard to fill the wonton wrappers. This lead to very little filling in each dumpling, which left them bland & unimpressive. I will return to using raw pork to make meatballs that fill the dumplings nicely. However, after cooking the left over filling, it was tasty served over rice with a little soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Fry up in small batches, don't overlap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Delicious recipe! A safer and easier way to cook these is to put both oil and water into the pan at the same time before adding the pot-stickers. Cover with lid and steam for about 6 minutes on medium-high heat, then remove the lid and cook for about 2-4 more minutes, allowing the water to evaporate and the remaining oil to brown the pot-stickers on one side. Watch closely to prevent burning. I make my dipping sauce with 1-1 rice wine vinegar and soy sauce, and add chili sauce, minced green onions, and minced fresh ginger to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States