Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was my first time making pot stickers, and they turned out great! I did double it all because i had bought a whole head of cabbage, and a pound of meat and i didn't want it to go to waste. I didn't really change much. I did only wait about 4 hours before i started to make them cause i was hungry!! Also i accidentally added 1 tsp sugar. and lastly i only used 3/4 cup water after i fried them in the oil. I made (10 at a time) other then that i did it just the same :) I freezed what we didn't cook up for dinner. If you have space in your freezer i suggest you lay them out on a cookie sheet or in a large tupperware not touching each other and stick in the freezer for like a 1/2 - 1 hour that way you can bag them up and they don't freeze/stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
these are so unbelievably like the store bought kind.. they're wonderful.. i used ground turkey instead of pork and used 1/2 t of ground ginger in place of fresh.. halved the salt.. omitted the sugar.. used a half cup of shredded cabbage and added about 1/4 cup of shredded carrots.. lightly oiled the pan and fried until they began to brown then threw them into the steamer for 15 mins to ensure everything was thoroughly cooked.. used chicken broth for the water component.. this yielded 25 pot stickers.. me and bf absolutely loved these.. ty so much for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I used a lid to my pan to shield myself from popping oil - and add the water quickly then replace the lid. This is what "un-sticks" the dumplings from the pan and then they cook up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Great taste, but technique takes some practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These were a bit hit with my family. Took a while to make but worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
These turned out alright. We had some issues with them falling apart and sticking to each other in the pan though. Also, i think if we had fried the whole thing, not just the bottom, they would have turned out better. But they tasted great, and we followed the recipe the whole way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very good - followed Leanne's suggestions. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I am also using raw ground pork and I might add some shrimp and less cabbage. I am also heating the pan to medium heat first, then adding 2 T oil, then the potstickers for 1 minute. Add 6 T water, much less water, cover immediately, turn down heat to simmer and cook for 6 minutes, uncover and cook until water is gone and bottoms are brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
filling was very dry, and except for the ginger had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These pot stickers are delicious and not at all dangerous IF you know how to cook with oil and water. I had no trouble at all with this so called dangerous spattering. As my grandmother always said, "the deeper the pan, the less the spatter and always have a lid handy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States