Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I used ground turkey, salt & pepper, & chopped red onions since that was all I had. Fry for 4-5 minutes until the bottom side is brown, added 1 cup of water & covered for 10 minutes. I mixed ponzu & siracha for the dipping sauce. You do not need to precook the meat. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I had never seen a recipe for pot stickers that called for the pork to be precooked, but decided to try it. The filling would not stay together. It was hard to fill the wonton wrappers. This lead to very little filling in each dumpling, which left them bland & unimpressive. I will return to using raw pork to make meatballs that fill the dumplings nicely. However, after cooking the left over filling, it was tasty served over rice with a little soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Fry up in small batches, don't overlap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Delicious recipe! A safer and easier way to cook these is to put both oil and water into the pan at the same time before adding the pot-stickers. Cover with lid and steam for about 6 minutes on medium-high heat, then remove the lid and cook for about 2-4 more minutes, allowing the water to evaporate and the remaining oil to brown the pot-stickers on one side. Watch closely to prevent burning. I make my dipping sauce with 1-1 rice wine vinegar and soy sauce, and add chili sauce, minced green onions, and minced fresh ginger to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was my first time making pot stickers, and they turned out great! I did double it all because i had bought a whole head of cabbage, and a pound of meat and i didn't want it to go to waste. I didn't really change much. I did only wait about 4 hours before i started to make them cause i was hungry!! Also i accidentally added 1 tsp sugar. and lastly i only used 3/4 cup water after i fried them in the oil. I made (10 at a time) other then that i did it just the same :) I freezed what we didn't cook up for dinner. If you have space in your freezer i suggest you lay them out on a cookie sheet or in a large tupperware not touching each other and stick in the freezer for like a 1/2 - 1 hour that way you can bag them up and they don't freeze/stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
these are so unbelievably like the store bought kind.. they're wonderful.. i used ground turkey instead of pork and used 1/2 t of ground ginger in place of fresh.. halved the salt.. omitted the sugar.. used a half cup of shredded cabbage and added about 1/4 cup of shredded carrots.. lightly oiled the pan and fried until they began to brown then threw them into the steamer for 15 mins to ensure everything was thoroughly cooked.. used chicken broth for the water component.. this yielded 25 pot stickers.. me and bf absolutely loved these.. ty so much for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I used a lid to my pan to shield myself from popping oil - and add the water quickly then replace the lid. This is what "un-sticks" the dumplings from the pan and then they cook up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Great taste, but technique takes some practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These were a bit hit with my family. Took a while to make but worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
These turned out alright. We had some issues with them falling apart and sticking to each other in the pan though. Also, i think if we had fried the whole thing, not just the bottom, they would have turned out better. But they tasted great, and we followed the recipe the whole way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States