Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I did not like how this turned out at all. I followed the recipe, but over all the flavor just wasn't there for me. I've had much better frozen ones (and for the amount of time and the cost it took to make these, I would rather spend my money on the frozen). I think it was the wonton wrappers that did it for me. I found the texture to be very different to what I'm use to. After trying this recipe, I was turned off to pot stickers for a few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is a "keeper" recipe! When I enclosed the filling, I pleated the edges for a truly authentic presentation. They were delicious and my husband and I ate the entire recipe in one sitting. Oink. I then made more and froze them so that we can have them at a (nearly) moments notice. I didn't change any of the ingredients or cooking procedures and was thoroughly pleased with the results. I also served these with hoisin sauce, a wasabi/soy mixture, and plum sauce for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Llano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaMiaItalia
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Absolutely what I was looking for!! These are GREAT!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very very good. Normally I do not use cabbage in the dumplings, but was pleasantly suprised. Everyone loved them. I browned the bottoms on the griddle and then transferred them to a steam basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
The filling was yummy even if kind of hard to work with being that it was crumbled. The sauce left alot to be desired and we searched for different dipping sauce recipes. It needed sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is definitely an authentic potsticker recipe. I had to google though to find out how I was suppose to fold the dumplings. Also, make sure the oil in the pan is very hot when searing the bottom side. Got tons of raves on this recipe and it will be a staple within my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great recipe and much easier to make than I was expecting. I had leftover boneless pork chops and through them in a food processor with the other ingredients. Then followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I enjoyed the filling very much but did make some changes to the original recipe. I used a pre-shredded coleslaw mix and added veggie crumbles instead of the pork. I used powdered ginger with cumin. Kept the dipping sauce the same but used homemade dough. I enjoyed this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Absolutely wonderful!!! I tweaked it a little...used 1 pound of raw ground pork and mixed it with about 1/4-1/2 cup of ground carrots, 1 teaspoon of ground ginger, 1 green onion and the recipe's amount of salt, sesame oil and sugar. I didn't use the water chestnuts or cabbage. They turned out phenomenal! I followed another reviewer and sauted in oil for about 5 minutes then steamed in chicken broth for about 10-15 minutes. I used Leanne's recipe for a dipping sauce (sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce and 1 minced green onion) and my boyfriend and I loved it! I froze what we didn't cook and hope they will be an easy answer to a quick dinner another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Excellent pot stickers. Tried as per a reviewer, omitted the cabbage and finely chopped a whole can of sliced water chestnuts instead. Did not pre-cook the meat as per the original recipe(not necessary).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOEANDSUE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States