Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Thisw isn't a good recipe. Its very bland and it also suggests wonton wrappers but they are not the correct kind for true pot stickers. You need rounded wrappers for that. Also YOU ARE A MORON if you think this is dangerous. For 1 if the oil starts jumping when you add water it means you are cooking at too high of a temperature. 2 by the time you add the water the oil should be pretty much cooked up. There shouldn't be more than just a shiny coating left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
If this were just for flavour, then I would give this 5 stars, but when it came to cooking, I made some alterations. (btw, the smell when this was marinating was AMAZING!) I didn't cook the pork beforehand, so that had something to do with it, but when I followed the instructions the pork didn't get cooked. What I ended up doing was: heat 3 Tbs. of oil in a deep skillet, add pot stickers (I did it in three batches), add 3/4 cup water and cover. After about 8 minutes take off cover and lett water evaporate until the bottom begins to brown, take out of pan and keep warm. For the next batches I added one Tbs. before putting in pot stickers. I also made the wrappers (according to one of the comments) with 2 cups flour, and 3/4 cup water plus 2 Tbs. then you let it sit for 30 min. and roll out to about 1/8 in. then cut with a three in. round cookie/biscuit cutter. I found this dough to be WAY to sticky, so I probably added another cup or more, but we had the equivalent of one wrapper left, so it came out well. I also used 1/2 a bag of shredded green cabbage, 10 slices of water chestnuts, and 1/2 tsp. chopped ginger (from a gar, I don't have any fresh). The taste was amazing! I was afraid it was going to be too much cabbage, but I could barely taste it. The sauce, however was WAY WAY too spicy. In the future I think I'll stick with soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, and a bit of ginger. I will DEFINATLY be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
The only things I change are that I use the traditional dumpling wrapper, the round ones. They do taste completely different to me than the egg roll wrappers and fry up in a different texture. I also don't add cabbage as that makes it more of an egg roll. When you put them in the oil, once they brown, flip them then add the water and cook till the water is gone with a lid on so they steam. Don't add the water too soon...only once they have browned on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
better than restaurant! try the gyoza sauce too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
WOW, Beyond all expectations!!! Really, really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Taste like the authentic pot stickers that I grew up with when I was a kid. The only change i made was added a little sherry to it. I also wrapped it with potsticker (round) wrappers rather than wonton wrappers. I made a dip, using 2 Tb soy sauce, 2 Tb water, 1 Tb rice wine vinegar, green onions, ginger & sesame oil. Really good! I would fry the bottoms of the pot stickers til it browns on bottom, throw in about 3-4 Tb of water, put lid on and it's ready when the water are all absorbed. I will try it next time boiling it, like I remembered when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
My family did not like this one bit. It was very bland. I will not be adding this to recipes to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I really liked this recipe but made the following changes: I used raw ground turkey; I obmitted the cabbage and added a minced stalk of celery and 1/4 cup minced water chestnuts. I browned the potstickers in butter with a little bit of sesame seed oil added. Delicious! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I used ground turkey, salt & pepper, & chopped red onions since that was all I had. Fry for 4-5 minutes until the bottom side is brown, added 1 cup of water & covered for 10 minutes. I mixed ponzu & siracha for the dipping sauce. You do not need to precook the meat. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I had never seen a recipe for pot stickers that called for the pork to be precooked, but decided to try it. The filling would not stay together. It was hard to fill the wonton wrappers. This lead to very little filling in each dumpling, which left them bland & unimpressive. I will return to using raw pork to make meatballs that fill the dumplings nicely. However, after cooking the left over filling, it was tasty served over rice with a little soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States