Pot Sticker Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
my friends ate them all before i even got to try one. they are so good. and i got to tell everyone it was a acient chinese secret - cause of my asian decent -^_^-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
These are time consuming but definitely worth it! I also steam them in chicken broth and I think it gives it a richer flavor. I don't always have all the ingredients on hand for the filling, but it's simple enough to improvise. I've never had any problems with the dough, I think using boiling water is the key along with kneading it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
Simply fantastic! I have tried too many times to count to make dumplings. My whole family, including 2 year old twins ate them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
These were great! I did do some tweaks though. 1st I rolled out the dough so it was thinner,this way it wasn't too doughy. With the filling I didn't cook the chicken first, all i did was mix all the filling ingredients together than filled. Browned the bottom and then steamed with a little chicken stock instead of water. Kids and DH LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is one of my favorite recipes to use! I absolutely love pot stickers, but have only eaten them at restaurants and at home, by way of using pre-made frozen ones from the store... I was so excited to try this recipe when I found it, and I haven't stopped using it regularly since. I do, however, use different fillings, depending on what I have in the fridge, but the pot sticker dough this recipe yields is just fantastic... everything tastes good in it! As for some reviewers saying that these were too "doughy", well I thought I would point out that pot stickers are meant to have a soft, chewy-doughy texture, not meant to be crispy like eggrolls or wantons, etc. I've never felt this recipe to yield pot stickers that are too doughy because I always roll the dough out thinly... they look and taste absolutely delicious, and I've found that they are just as good as ones from restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These were fabuous. My husband and I usually get the fried dumplings at PF Changs, and these were very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe was great!! After reading reviews, i only used half the tho and made 8 pot stickers with this filling recipe. I will double the filling next time and use the same recipe for the dough. The taste was fantastic, texture perfect and i will be making this often. I didnt have the chinese spice and it was still delicious. I strongly recommend the low sodium soya sauce indicated in the recipe. I almost used regular... the taste was perfect and regular soya sauce would be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I disagree with other users who found the potstickers to be doughy. The key to avoiding this problem is to go thin on the dough (if you notice, in restaurants the dough is only about as thick as two pieces of cardstock). I also steamed them instead of frying them at all. The filling is fabulous and my husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
We just used the dough part of this recipe and created our own filling (pre-shredded coleslaw mix, veggie ground 'beef' and some spices) but the dough worked out perfectly. It was easy to make and made 12 large dumplings. My husband thought the dough was better than ones he has tried in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
These are outstanding! Here's a tip: If you live in Chicago, go The Spice House in Evanston, IL and buy their Argyle Street Asian Blend seasoning and add approx. one teaspoon as well as one teaspoon of ground (dry) ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States