Pot Sticker Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
These are outstanding! Here's a tip: If you live in Chicago, go The Spice House in Evanston, IL and buy their Argyle Street Asian Blend seasoning and add approx. one teaspoon as well as one teaspoon of ground (dry) ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
We just used the dough part of this recipe and created our own filling (pre-shredded coleslaw mix, veggie ground 'beef' and some spices) but the dough worked out perfectly. It was easy to make and made 12 large dumplings. My husband thought the dough was better than ones he has tried in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I disagree with other users who found the potstickers to be doughy. The key to avoiding this problem is to go thin on the dough (if you notice, in restaurants the dough is only about as thick as two pieces of cardstock). I also steamed them instead of frying them at all. The filling is fabulous and my husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Perhaps I've never had "authentic" pot stickers. I have eaten them from many, many restaurants. These seemed to be more doughy than anything I've had. However, the filling tastes wonderful. I used less of the dough, just enough to fold and close the pot stickers. Since I doubled the recipe, I used 2 seperate pans to cook them. I browned them in one pan using oil. Then I steamed them in a covered pan using water. This made the cooking process flow much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe was great!! After reading reviews, i only used half the tho and made 8 pot stickers with this filling recipe. I will double the filling next time and use the same recipe for the dough. The taste was fantastic, texture perfect and i will be making this often. I didnt have the chinese spice and it was still delicious. I strongly recommend the low sodium soya sauce indicated in the recipe. I almost used regular... the taste was perfect and regular soya sauce would be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Not the best pot stickers I've ever made, but by far not the worst. They had a good flavor, but not a recipe I would choose over a myriad of other dumpling recipes I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
The dough..was...not good. Buy wonton wrappers and definitely add minced garlic and fresh minced ginger. More or less depending on how much you like it. Take out the five spice, and maybe use ground pork instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These were fabuous. My husband and I usually get the fried dumplings at PF Changs, and these were very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
These are time consuming but definitely worth it! I also steam them in chicken broth and I think it gives it a richer flavor. I don't always have all the ingredients on hand for the filling, but it's simple enough to improvise. I've never had any problems with the dough, I think using boiling water is the key along with kneading it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demimi
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
These were very bland, but I'm prolly to blame. I subbed pork for chicken, didn't have any green onion, and did not use enough spice. I didn't have the Chinese 5-spice thingy so I just used a little bit of ground ginger, but it needed SOOOO much more. I thought these were going to be too salty, because I was using full-sodium soy sauce, so I omitted the salt in the dough. ugh big mistake. When it cooks it turns out so bland and watery, next time I'm going to take anothers suggestion and cook it in chicken stock. The dough was a nightmare. I had to flour everything in sight down, and it took forever, but I have to admit it was kind of fun. I had some left over filling so I just ate that plain and it tasted fine, which is why I didn't think it needed more spice, but once it gets into the bland tasting dough, it tastes sooooo nothingish. I'm really calorie-conscious, so I didn't want to use the full oil when cooking the bottoms, so the first time I used a small amount of oil, and the second time I just used a SMALL drizzle of sesame oil, a spray of PAM, and then just spread it with a spoon. I recommend diluting your choice of oil in water, instead of using the full amount. This recipe is a really good base, and I will only make the dough again if I don't have wonton wrappers around, and I'm going to keep tweaking this and running with it. I do recommend this recipe, just don't make the mistakes I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States