Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I added oregano and garlic a pinch of sea salt and black pepper. I loved that it was a one pot meal with the added veggies. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Oh boy I'm in love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Edgerle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I used twice as many veggies as listed here, skipped the water, used a quart of home-canned tomatoes with juice instead, and subbed garlic powder for garlic salt, using that liberally. I also had a 3 lb roast. For gravy, I subbed searing flour for corn starch, so needed about twice as much, and made a roux with about 1/2 skim milk instead of water after browning the flour. Worked great. Tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Followed the recipe and the beef came out tough. It was my first try with a pot roast, so possibly I missed a step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong, but the roast was extremely tough and veggies were overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I replaced some of the water with red wine. I also added in some thyme and some bay leaves. The more important thing was that I browned the meat in a frying pan before ever putting it in the oven. Then, when the time comes for making the gravy, I just heat the broth and add in some flour mixed with water. It came out great and the family loved it. Next time around, I plan to chop up a few cloves of garlic to toss in with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Very tender and moist pot roast - no knife needed. I added red pepper flakes, cabbage and some mushrooms since I did not have celery and used 2 cups of chicken broth and water (along with carrots and red potatoes). House smelled wonderful. Easy prep and clean up too. Thank you for this great recipe. Also just served with juice from roasting pan which was delish. Next time will try to make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ItallianRaven
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Turned out awesome! Only thing I did different was used two cups beef broth and one cup water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I thought it was very good, traditional pot roast recipe. I think I will add a little cayenne pepper next time to give it a little "pop", but will keep the basic recipe. Thanks Linda C!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing a great and easy way to cook pot roast! The meat was tender and could be broken by a fork.Yes, indeed, the aroma, as it was cooking, was so wonderful! It turned out very, very well. The second time, I used Lipton French Onion Mix instead of water just for something different! This recipe is in my keepers box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States