Pot Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I used sweet red wine in place of the vinegar, and cooked the in a crock pot for 8 hours, I put the veggies in at the 4 hour point. I followed the recipe except for the changes mentioned. When I tasted the broth on the stove top before putting it in the crock pot I knew I had hit a home run with this recipe. It is a good thing that I took the picture before dinner because there was no left over meat and veggies. I will be freezing the left over broth and using it for french onion soup. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is my recipe, and a couple options had been left out when it was kitchen approved. I usually use garbanzo bean flour for thickening instead of corn starch. The garbanzo bean flour adds protein and other nutrients to the gravy, and the corn starch is generally made from GMO corn which I avoid. I also often use chopped frozen tomatoes from our garden instead of canned tomatoes. Tomatoes that we don't use soon enough are cored and frozen for use in pot roast and tomato soup. I always use more than 1 garlic clove because we like garlic - usually at least 3-4. I also add more than a pinch of the seasonings. The recipe is great as listed, but I thought I would add a few more options. It freezes well for future meals, and tastes as good as when it was freshly made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Wow!! I have tried many pot roast dishes, most with a mono-tone beef flavor, which is good, but very plain. This one is different in a very good way. What intrigues you is the sweet (brown sugar) and sour (vinegar) components. In my case I used apple cider vinegar which I feel worked very well. (To me red wine vinegar may be a little too sharp) A deft hand is needed with the sweet and sour flavors, however, more is NOT better. Don't over-do the spices either. I didn't use celery at all. Also didn't fuss with adding spices and mushrooms at the end, I added it all in the beginning. I also worked in some "Demi-Glace Gold" to boost the beefy flavor, Yum! My family was overwhelmed with good flavor. This is a keeper. ~~Donald.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Wouldn't change a thing! i had to hurry the meal up a bit so I modified the cook time (and temp). The meat was very tender even cooking at 325 vs. 300. Here's what I did: preheated the oven @ 375, then lowered it to 325 and let it cook for about 3 1/2 hours before adding the carrots. To help the potatoes along, I removed them after about 20 min in the oven and microwaved them for about 4-5 min. just before serving. The kitchen smelled so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This recipe was excellent! I made it a tad bit too sweet so I would stick to the recipe for the amount of brown sugar. I omited the tomatoes. The gravy was excellent! I used a dutch oven. I'll definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious! I converted this to a crockpot. I seared the beef in bacon grease then put in a slow cooker and topped with everything else, and just omitted the corn starch step. Used sweet potatoes in place of white. LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My 4 pound roast was tender after 3 hours. Can use fresh mushrooms. 3-4 garlic cloves is better. Do not use more brown sugar than recipe suggests, even with 1 Tbsp, gravy was slightly sweet. Will make again definitely and even add more of the seasonings next time. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this and my family loved it. The extra spices made it tastier than just the traditional "pot roast" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motochik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mike
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
excellent! Cooked in a Dutch Oven and added more garlic it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States