Pot Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is one of the best pot roasts I have made. Very tender with great flavor. I used wine instead of vinegar as the recipe author suggested in her review. I also added peas instead of potatoes since I serve always serve pot roast with mashed potatoes. The herbs and wine really enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I used brewed coffee instead of water and the beef bullion, slow roasted...delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missbrocks
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was my first pot roast and i made a few changes because of what i had on hand...it was delicious! I used Montreal steak seasoning on the meat, tomato sauce, real tomatoes and chicken stock and it turned out more like a stew. i didn't use the cornstarch or mushrooms because i didn't have either. the meat fell apart after 3 hours and i put it on the stove and added the potatoes and carrots. the flavor is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Great recipe! Made two batches in two crock pots for a family dinner of 10. After the meat was in the crock pot and cooking, I prepared the vegetables and then put them in the crock pot. Everything tourned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious! I converted this to a crockpot. I seared the beef in bacon grease then put in a slow cooker and topped with everything else, and just omitted the corn starch step. Used sweet potatoes in place of white. LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My 4 pound roast was tender after 3 hours. Can use fresh mushrooms. 3-4 garlic cloves is better. Do not use more brown sugar than recipe suggests, even with 1 Tbsp, gravy was slightly sweet. Will make again definitely and even add more of the seasonings next time. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this and my family loved it. The extra spices made it tastier than just the traditional "pot roast" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motochik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mike
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Wow!! I have tried many pot roast dishes, most with a mono-tone beef flavor, which is good, but very plain. This one is different in a very good way. What intrigues you is the sweet (brown sugar) and sour (vinegar) components. In my case I used apple cider vinegar which I feel worked very well. (To me red wine vinegar may be a little too sharp) A deft hand is needed with the sweet and sour flavors, however, more is NOT better. Don't over-do the spices either. I didn't use celery at all. Also didn't fuss with adding spices and mushrooms at the end, I added it all in the beginning. I also worked in some "Demi-Glace Gold" to boost the beefy flavor, Yum! My family was overwhelmed with good flavor. This is a keeper. ~~Donald.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Wouldn't change a thing! i had to hurry the meal up a bit so I modified the cook time (and temp). The meat was very tender even cooking at 325 vs. 300. Here's what I did: preheated the oven @ 375, then lowered it to 325 and let it cook for about 3 1/2 hours before adding the carrots. To help the potatoes along, I removed them after about 20 min in the oven and microwaved them for about 4-5 min. just before serving. The kitchen smelled so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States