Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I have been married for almost 1 year and I wanted to try mu luck at my very first roast. I saw this one and was a little iffy when I saw the ingredients, but decided to give it a shot. My husband loves it!!!! He asked me when he was finished eating if we could have it again tomorrow night lol. Thank you for sharing your recipe with this new bride, with very little cooking experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe has helped me cook pot roast for quite some time now. Works perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat =^..^=

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Don't use the onion soup mix -yuck. Instead, give the roast (underblade chuch roast) a heavy rub on both sides with garlic powder. Slice fresh onions and put on bottom of pan and then on top of the garlic-rubbed steak. Then pour 1 can of mushroom soup on top. No water required. Cover 13x9 pan tightly with tin foil (no need to wrap the whole thing in tin foil, just the top) and bake as directed. Melt in your mouth good with amazing gravy that has real onions in it. With these changes, it gets five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was my first time cooking a pot roast and it turned out to be the best one I've ever had! After reading the other reviews I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and added some crushed garlic and a little bit of red wine to the sauce. My roast was larger than the recipe recomended so I had to cook it longer, but basted it every 30 minutes or so. I also used a roasting pan with the lid instead of tin foil since I did not have enough on hand. The gravy was delicious, I fried some mushrooms and onions and mixed them into some of the gravy, and also served some gravy just plain. When it came time to carve the roast, there was no need it just fell apart. This was by far the most tender and moist roast I've ever had. I will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janol8

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Tasted great.. wish it were a little more tender but all in all was a hit with my family. The gravy is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is so easy to make and tastes great. I love roast when it falls apart and this recipes did not disappoint. Everyone I have made it for loves it and they have asked for it again. I am a salt person so I would add more salt but I love salt a lot and I usually add it later so I do not ruin it for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
My husband thought it was great, but the meat wasn't as tender as I was expecting.... Think I might try it in the crock pot next time. I made beef and noodles with the leftovers, and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
The meat comes out tender, and easy to make. I pepared this the night before and cooked it in the morning, and left it in the oven until dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla_P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This turned out really well! I made this last night for my parents, boyfriend, and two dinner guests and they all liked it. My boyfriend, who doesn't like pot roast, actually enjoyed it and said it was better than what he's had in the past. It came out moist and tender. I used an extra can of soup, a little red wine, and some worcestershire sauce to the soup mixture, and also added some garlic cloves, mushrooms and onions to the foil packet. Served this with garlic mashed potatoes and roasted broccoli. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Lee
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
i poked holes in the roast and sprinkled with garlic powder, salt and pepper, and a little wosterschire. i also added some veggies and an extra can of cream of mushroom soup. in order to get the fall apart tender and the veggies done i cooked it on 325 for about 5.5 hours. turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States