Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I've been using this recipe for over 30 years. I just put it in the 9 x 13 with 1/4'd red skin potatoes, baby carrots, a few ribs of celery, and cover it with foil. Bake at 350° for 2 hrs. I've also used various roasts -chuck, bottom, sirloin, london broil...Always tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is very good as written. It made an abundance of gravy and I was actually very surprised at how tender the beef was. I can only guess that some of you, complaining that the meat was dry, used cuts with little, or no fat. Next time, I'll add some sliced onions on top of the gravy mixture. Thanks, LBEECH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
excellent family enjoyed it, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marc
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I usually use the slow cooker for pot roasts but I decided to try using the oven when I came across this! Easy to make, and it was delicious! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong. It came out tough and dry; used a boneless cross rib roast. 300 degrees for 3.5 hours. Maybe I didn't seal the foil tight enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Taste was good, but the meat was a bit tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is the recipe that I was raised on and in turn I raised my children on. My mother always made this and it is my go to for good 'ol fashioned comfort food. The only thing is that I strongly disagree with listening to others and doubling the soup. I tried it once and if you prefer boiled meat, then it's right for you. I prefer roasted and too much liquid boils it instead, making it rubbery. If you want more gravy, add the second can AFTER the roast is finished, not during the roast. I don't do the water sprinkling thing and here's a tip for one less dish: sprinkle the dried soup on the bottom, lay the roast on top, then top with the mushroom soup. They will mix on their own with all the meat juices and now you don't have to mix it beforehand, saving dishes! I always serve it with garlic mashed potatoes, seasoned green beans and hot yeast rolls. It's the ultimate family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Wow! I never made a pot roast, and nailed this recipe on the first try!!! Everyone asked for seconds. I used Angus bottom round, two cans of mushroom soup for extra gravy, and added Worcestershire sauce. I baked it in an oven bag for four hours at 300. The meat was so perfectly tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Mine turned out dry. The gravy was excellent though. Just wish the meat would of been juicy. Maybe I should have cooked it a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Well, I "failed" at the "no fail" recipe. The beef was not very tender and the gravy tasted just okay, although it looked like a grey, gelatinous mess with strong, oniony overtones. Probably my fault. I only cooked it 3 hours instead of 4--because I happened to have a 1.7 pound roast instead of a 3-pounder. But I checked it with a meat thermometer at 3 hours and it was way past done for beef, so I figured I'd better take it out. So was it overdone or underdone? Or maybe the problem was I used a different cut of roast; can't recall what it was, but it wasn't bottom round. Also, I followed the recommendations to add two cans of the soup...maybe I should have added some other additional liquid too to avoid the gloopy-ness of the gravy. Not sure what I did wrong or if I dare try it again or should move on to another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States