Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is a no fail done as written! The meat comes tender and the gravy is so rich. Use 2 cans of soup because you will want seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I just tried this recipe last night. Excellent and easy!! After reading many of the reviews I added a 2nd can of soup and a little garlic (since I love garlic). I have never done a roast in the oven, I have always done them in my crock-pot so was a little nervous that it would be dry. It was so tender and flavorful. My husband has requested that I make it on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
It was ok. I used 2 cans of the soup as suggested and there was still only a little bit of sauce/gravy. I cooked 10 minutes less than what was directed and it was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My ma and I used to make this with a chuck roast and "Bert's Superb Barbeque Sauce" ... with heavy duty foil, it could be put on a grill even. Lay the meat on onion slices, for no sticking, and juicy bottom. 5 stars easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
It may have been my oven but this came out way overdone. I would check it frequently. the gravy was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by denika
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
this is an excellent start for beginners making a roast. as this was my first time, i appreciated the simplicity. i did read some of the reviews for other suggestions & made the following changes: 1. i lightly seasoned the roast with "mccormick grill mates montreal steak seasoning" but i'm sure any seasonings you prefer would be fine (for those who said it liked taste) 2. sprinkled both sides with worcestershire sauce, maybe 1 tbsp each side (again for taste) 3. definitely use 2 cans of mushroom soup if you want more gravy 4. i cooked it at 300 deg for 2 hrs & let it rest (covered) for 30 min before cutting. once my internal temperature hit 190, i felt it was done. i think that's why some people are getting overcooked roasts. they are definitely cooking them too long.....mine came out very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
The roast itself was ok, nothing special, but the vegetables were fantastic, I added potatoes, onions, carrots and slices of garlic as well as used 2 cans of soup. Overall the vegetables made this meal worthwhile, might try making the roast differently next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I was super excited after reading the reviews, I followed the recipe exactly with out any add ons, and was very disappointed. The meat came out super bland, dry and tough. My husband is pretty tolerant of most of my kitchen experiments but he actually asked me to go back to my normal recipe and not make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Easy and amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This recipe has been around for over 30 years and is one of those you keep using. I make it quite a bit because of the gravy. I am not a gravy person,but this one I love with mashed potatoes. And.... So easy. Perfect ror those days you want comfort food. It never disappoints. I see a few that say it is nothing special, but I think it is as good as it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States