Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
The first time I made this my meat was a little dry but nonetheless was the best tasting roast I had in a long time...made it again today but used an oven bag and it was even better! I added potatoes, onions and carrots both times for a complete meal and spiced up the meat a tad with some crushed garlic...awesome recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Excellent pot roast recipe. Doesn't get any easier than this. Very moist and tender, great flavor, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBRANDER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Ignatius, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Well, after reading all the reviews for this recipe, I decided to try this one for my first attempt at a roast...and it was well worth it! I did make a few changes...used a sirloin roast, used a oven bag instead of foil, used a spice rub for the meat, used 2 cans of soup, and spiked the soup/onion mix with a few healthy doses of Worcester sauce...threw in a few redskinned potatoes quartered, a couple small onions...baked at 325 for the full 4 hours, and it was a HUGE HIT! The meat was so tender, juicy and flavorful...and the gravy was out of this world, use 2 cans soup for extra gravy, you wont be sorry! Thanks for a great recipe Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe was amazing. I never got so many compliments on my cooking before. I told them all of your recipe. I did add an extra can of mushroom soup as instructed by other reviewers but besides that I did nothing extra. My husband is still in love with the leftovers. This was my first roast to turn out so well I thank God and you. My roast was a little bigger than called for in the recipe so I had the oven at 325. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This is EXCELLENT! I made some changes, though. Since I had a meeting and wouldn't be home at dinner time, I needed to make a meal in one...I used an oven bag inside a 9 X 13" pan, coated with 1 TBSP of flour. I set the roast inside the bag and topped it with about 1/4 cup of Lea & Perrins steak sauce. I mixed 2 cans of mushroom soup (instead of 1) with the dry onion soup mix and spooned and patted it over the roast. I then set 6 peeled and 1/4-ed potatoes and many baby carrots around the roast. I closed up the bag, following instructions included with bags. I baked it at 325 degrees for 2 3/4 hours. The vegies were perfect and the meat was tender. The gravy was AWESOME! My family LOVED it and I enjoyed it VERY MUCH, even though I had to eat it reheated! Thanks, Lynn, for a GREAT recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
THIS IS AWESOME!!! I've made it twice now for Christmas and it's been a hit each time. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joysi Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very good very easy and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pampa, Texas, USA
Living In: Liberal, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I expected more after the many great reviews. This is an alright recipe. We ate it, but no great shakes. I probably won't make it again and will keep searching for the perfect pot roast recipe, if there is such a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was delicious! I'll definitely be making this again. The only thing I changed was I browned the meat on the stove top first. I also think that I'll shorten the cooking time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEXAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
My favorite roast. I love the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States