Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe was amazing. I never got so many compliments on my cooking before. I told them all of your recipe. I did add an extra can of mushroom soup as instructed by other reviewers but besides that I did nothing extra. My husband is still in love with the leftovers. This was my first roast to turn out so well I thank God and you. My roast was a little bigger than called for in the recipe so I had the oven at 325. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This is EXCELLENT! I made some changes, though. Since I had a meeting and wouldn't be home at dinner time, I needed to make a meal in one...I used an oven bag inside a 9 X 13" pan, coated with 1 TBSP of flour. I set the roast inside the bag and topped it with about 1/4 cup of Lea & Perrins steak sauce. I mixed 2 cans of mushroom soup (instead of 1) with the dry onion soup mix and spooned and patted it over the roast. I then set 6 peeled and 1/4-ed potatoes and many baby carrots around the roast. I closed up the bag, following instructions included with bags. I baked it at 325 degrees for 2 3/4 hours. The vegies were perfect and the meat was tender. The gravy was AWESOME! My family LOVED it and I enjoyed it VERY MUCH, even though I had to eat it reheated! Thanks, Lynn, for a GREAT recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
THIS IS AWESOME!!! I've made it twice now for Christmas and it's been a hit each time. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joysi Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very good very easy and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pampa, Texas, USA
Living In: Liberal, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I expected more after the many great reviews. This is an alright recipe. We ate it, but no great shakes. I probably won't make it again and will keep searching for the perfect pot roast recipe, if there is such a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was delicious! I'll definitely be making this again. The only thing I changed was I browned the meat on the stove top first. I also think that I'll shorten the cooking time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEXAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
My favorite roast. I love the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This recipe is really easy to follow and the gravy is delicious, although I did add a little garlic and steak sauce to mine. BUT 4 hours is WAAAY too long to cook a 3 pound roast. I took mine out after 3 hours and it was still a little over cooked. I would suggest 2 1/2 hours to make sure that the meat stays tender. Overall, a good recipe and a keeper with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I did do this recipe in the crock pot because of my work schedule - but wasn't really that impressed with the flavors. My husband "the pot roast lover" had good things to say but it left me blah... I may try it again per the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This turned out delicious! I did however follow the advice to use 2 cans of soup. I also added 1/4 c. Worcestershire, 1/4 c. water, & 8oz carton of beef stock and bombarded it with baby carrots, quartered potatoes and quartered onions. I love using oven bags, so I can guarantee my meat to be moist and also so I can control the drippings easier. I cooked it for the full 4 hrs. I bought a cheap 2.17 lb. sirloin tip, and it was really moist and delish! Everyone loved it and quickly scarfed it down. Did a little personal tweaking, but for the most part this recipe was a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Bush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States