Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was really great, so easy! of course I had to make a few changes due to not having some items in the house. I used an oven bag and didnt have the onion soup so I added chopped onion. My BF hates mushrooms so I added one can of cream of potato soup and one can of cream of chicken soup, it was DELISH!!! It smelled so good cooking and make the BEST gravy!! The roast was so tender. definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
At first, I was worried about the salt not penetrating the roast but I found that if you cut the roast (cooked) into small slices and pour the sauce over them, they're just fine. Wonderful recipe, very easy. Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
WOW! This pot roast was DELICIOUS! The only changes I made was that I used 1 1/2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and added fresh potatoes and carrots. The gravy it made was very good, if you do not like potatoes and carrots with your roast the gravy would be great over mashed potatoes. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milissa Hewitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Grange, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This roast was incredible. I made a smaller roast (1-1/2 lbs.) and only cooked it 2-1/2 hours, and it turned out great. It was tender and tasty and I will definitely make it again. I used a ranch roast which was awesome. Perfect Sunday meal accompanied with homemade mashed potatos and corn. Yummm-eeeee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was very good. However, I did have to make some alterations because I didn't have the onion soup mix. I used 1/2 packet of dried italian dressing packet and 1/2 packet of brown gravy mix. My husband LOVED it the altered way! I will try the recipe next time with the soup mix to see if he likes it any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
so easy and so good. no fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
tried this exactly as stated, and my family thought my old way of doing roast was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Loved it! I used cream of mushroom and roasted garlic soup, and a dry rub of garlic powder, thyme and pepper. I put onions, quartered mushrooms and potatoes in the foil. Next time, I'll leave out the onions as they overpowered the garlic. This is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Pretty good... It made lots of gravy. We served it with egg noodles. We did over cook the meat a little. Watch your cooking times!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was my first attempt at a pot roast and it was absolutely amazing. One of our friends (and his girlfriend) just polished off all the leftovers an hour ago, issuing compliments that would make even the vainest person blush. I took others' advice from here - I doubled the soup, used a rub (in my case, peppercorn, which made the meat spicy and hot and absolutely incredible, and it complemented the soup way better than I dared to hope), used a bag instead of foil, threw in red pearl onions and quartered red potatoes (along with carrots and celery). The meat reached 180 degrees within 2 hours, so I took it out at 3. I probably should've left it longer, as the flavor was excellent but it wasn't as tender as I was hoping. I plan to try it again using a savory herb rub and a longer cook time; we'll see what happens! This website is making me appear to be a much better cook than I am. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States