Pot Roast in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this dish last Sunday and the house smelled amazing while it was cooking in the crockpot. It had great flavor and was very tender. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This needed something more. My advise would be to use a darker sweeter beer. Maybe mine would've turned out better if I had. I followed it exactly (a bit more garlic as I Love garlic) but otherwise it just wasn't the best tasting. My husband agreed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
this recipe is awesome make sure you use a dark beer makes for richer flavor......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Probably more like 3.5 stars. It's not bad, but despite the fact that I added more garlic, plenty of salt and pepper, and oven roasted potatoes with paprika and oregano it was still very bland. Kick it up a notch with your favorite spices and this will be a 4-5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
We really loved this recipe but it was a little tough when cooked in the pan the way the recipe suggests. Next time we are going to do it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Delicious recipe! I made mine in the crock pot after searing the meat and sauteeing the vegetables. The meat was so tender and falling apart. Next time I might add something to thicken the gravy, because it was pretty thin, but still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I thought that this roast sounded delicious and that it was supported by the reviews, but I have got to say that it was not that wonderful. The juices were pretty bland - I had to add my own seasonings to make this taste decent. I think the only good part of this recipe were the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good meal for a crowd. Substituted 1 can cream of onion & 1 can cream of celery, as I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My husband absolutely loves this roast and for me it's okay. I like using lipton onion and golden mushroom flavor better and it's also much easier. I used a chuck roast and I also used golden mushroom instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Been using beer in my pot roasts for years, but never in combo with soup. Followed basic recipe closely. Used a chuck roast trimmed of fat seasoned with a little salt and freshly ground pepper. Used a flavorful pale ale and added a couple sliced carrots along with celery and onion. Cooked in cast iron dutch oven just over 3 hr in a 300° oven. Added portabello mushrooms along with sliced meat for last 30 minutes. Came out very tender and flavorful. Served with noodles and crusty homemade Australian "Damper Bread" it made a hearty dinner on a winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States